Report: Argenis Mendez, knocked out after bell, gets his title back

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry on Thursday ruled that the Jan. 3 fight between super featherweight champion Argenis Mendez of the Dominican Republic and Rances Barthelemy of Cuba held at Target Center in Minneapolis be changed to a no-decision result, reported.

Barthelemy was originally given credit for a second-round knockout when he kept throwing after the second-round bell and knocked out Mendez. Even though Barthelemy was clearly guilty of a foul, referee Pete Podgorski did not rule as such and instead counted out Mendez.

The ruling also means Mendez will get his title belt back from Barthelemy, though the report indicated the IBF will likely order a rematch.




Twitter Facebook Pinterest Reddit Tumblr Email Snailmail