California League rosters announced

Mark Sappington is 5-0 with a 2.05 ERA in nine starts for the 66ers.

The California League All-Star team that will take on one from the Carolina League on June 18 in San Jose has been announced. Both local teams are represented.



Jake Barrett, Visalia Rawhide; Ty Blach, San Jose Giants; Carlos Contreras, Bakersfield Blaze; Edwin Escobar, San Jose Giants; Drew Grenier, Stockton Ports; Chris Jensen, Modesto Nuts; *El’Hajj Muhammed, Bakersfield Blaze; Josh Osich, San Jose Giants; Brady Rodgers, Lancaster JetHawks; Mark Sappington, Inland Empire 66ers; *Hunter Strickland, San Jose Giants; Dan Winkler, Modesto Nuts.


Jeff Arnold, San Jose Giants; Robert Kral, Lake Elsinore Storm.


*Ryan Cavan, San Jose Giants; *JiMan Choi, High Desert Mavericks; Matt Duffy, Lancaster JetHawks; *Jake Lamb, Visalia Rawhide; Geson Montilla, Visalia Rawhide; *Ryan Mount, Rancho Cucamonga Quakes; Max Muncey, Stockton Ports; *Cory Spangenberg, Lake Elsinore Storm; Chris Taylor, High Desert Mavericks; Angela Villalona, San Jose Giants; Alex Yarbrough, Inland Empire 66ers.


Andrew Aplin, Lancaster JetHawks; Jabari Blash, High Desert Mavericks; Zach Borenstein, Inland Empire 66ers; Noel Cuevas, Rancho Cucamonga Quakes;Preston Tucker, Lancaster JetHawks.

Field staff (All San Jose)

Andy Skeets, Manager; Mike Couchee, pitching coach; Lipso Nava, hitting coach; Dave Getsoff, trainer; Dustin Brooks, strength and conditioning.

* Denotes player who will not play due to promotion or injury


2012 Cal League postseason awards

Here are the 2012 California League postseason awards as released by the league today:

Manager of the Year Pedro Grifol High Desert Mavericks
Coach of the Year Roy Howell High Desert Mavericks
Trainer of the Year Greg Spence Inland Empire 66ers
Turf Manager of the Year Peter Hayes Lake Elsinore Storm
Clubbie of the Year Alex Mookas Lancaster JetHawks
Most Valuable Player Billy Hamilton Bakersfield Blaze
Pitcher of the Year Christian Bergman Modesto Nuts
Rookie of the Year C.J. Cron Inland Empire 66ers
Catcher John Hicks High Desert Mavericks
First Base C.J. Cron Inland Empire 66ers
Second Base Taylor Lindsey Inland Empire 66ers
Third Base Adam Duvall San Jose Giants
Shortstop Billy Hamilton Bakersfield Blaze
Utility Steven Proscia High Desert Mavericks
Designated Hitter Tommy Medica Lake Elsinore Storm
Outfielder Leon Landry High Desert Mavericks
Outfielder George Springer Lancaster JetHawks
Outfielder Kyle Parker Modesto Nuts
Pitcher Kevin Quackenbush Lake Elsinore Storm
Pitcher Christian Bergman Modesto Nuts
Pitcher Roenis Elias High Desert Mavericks
Pitcher Matthew Andriese Lake Elsinore Storm