Mt. SAC journalists win 28 awards

Mt. San Antonio College journalism students outdid themselves again by
winning a record 28 awards recently at the Journalism Association of Community
Colleges state conference in Sacramento.

“Our students have walked away with the
most awards ever won by Mt. SAC at the state level, ” said Toni Albertson,
Mt. SAC journalism professor and advisor for the student newspaper, The
. “Winning this many awards at the state conference shows
the dedication these students have for journalism and the association’s
recognition of the caliber of their work.”

Mt. SAC’s student newspaper, The Mountaineer,
and the student magazine, Substance Magazine, each won general excellence
awards. Beatrice Alcala (Walnut) won first place for in the magazine design
competition, while Jessica Cardenas (Upland) won first for magazine cover
and Aldo Padilla (Fontana) won first place for magazine photo.

Carmichael Cruz (Rowland Heights) won
second place in the feature writing competition, while Adam Valenzuela
(Riverside) took second in the editorial cartoon category. Padilla took
second in the magazine feature photo competition, while Alcala won second-
and third-place awards in advertisement design.

Charlye DeHart (Montclair), editor of
Mt. SAC’s newspaper, and Jessica Cardenas (Upland), editor of the student
magazine, won the top editor awards. Wendy Rubick (Ontario) and Frank Cardenas
(Whittier) won the top online editor awards.

DeHart received honorable mentions in
news writing, copyediting, and front page news. Evan Lancaster (Walnut)
received a front page news honorable mention, Jessica Cardenas took a feature
writing honor mention, and Ray Peregrina (West Covina)  received a
sports writing honorable mention. Sara Heady (Upland) and Mary Obeyd (Chino
Hills) received honorable mentions in magazine feature writing, while Alcala
took an honorable mention in magazine design. Rubick took the honorable
mention in critical review, while Shawn Raymundo received the honorable
mention in front page news design. Isai Rocha (Baldwin Park) received the
honorable mention in broadcast news writing, while Lois Rodrigo (Chino
Hills) and Carmichael Cruz took honorable mentions in broadcast newscast.

The convention featured the competition
for community college journalism students throughout the state. More than
800 students from 60 California community colleges competed.