Little things mean a lot

By rule, an official scorer can’t charge an error to a fielder who commits a miscue on the back end of a ground ball double play (unless the first baseman drops a perfect relay throw). But those plays often are just as costly as an error. In the top of the fourth, the Dodgers had runners on first and third with one out when Luis Gonzalez hit a tailormade DP ball up the middle. Braves SS Edgar Renteria went behind the bag to snag it, then backhanded the ball to 2B Kelly Johnson standing on the bag for the force. But Johnson dropped the ball while trying to transfer it from his glove to his throwing hand and thus never was able to make the throw to first. That allowed Juan Pierre to score the go-ahead run from third. So far, that play is the difference in the game. The Dodgers are holding on for dear life to a one-run lead, but it is worth noting they are 14-0 this season when leading after six innings. Dodgers 2, Braves 1, middle 7

Share this post ...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on RedditShare on TumblrEmail this to someonePrint this page