Davey Johnson, Buck Showalter win IBWAA Manager of the Year awards.

Don Mattingly was not among the leading vote-getters for the IBWAA Manager of the Year announced Wednesday. The awards went to Davey Johnson and Buck Showalter in their respective leagues. The IBWAA is independent of the BBWAA, but shares a few voters in common and serves as a predictor of the BBWAA end-of-season awards.

The top three vote getters in each league:

National League

1st Place: Davey Johnson, Washington Nationals
2nd Place: Bruce Bochy, San Francisco Giants
3rd Place: Dusty Baker, Cincinnati Reds

American League

1st Place: Buck Showalter, Baltimore Orioles
2nd Place: Bob Melvin, Oakland Athletics
3rd Place: Joe Maddon, Tampa Bay Rays

This entry was posted in Awards Season by J.P. Hoornstra. Bookmark the permalink.

About J.P. Hoornstra

J.P. Hoornstra covers the Dodgers, Angels and Major League Baseball for the Orange County Register, Los Angeles Daily News, Long Beach Press-Telegram, Torrance Daily Breeze, San Gabriel Valley Tribune, Pasadena Star-News, San Bernardino Sun, Inland Valley Daily Bulletin, Whittier Daily News and Redlands Daily Facts. Before taking the beat in 2012, J.P. covered the NHL for four years. UCLA gave him a degree once upon a time; when he graduated on schedule, he missed getting Arnold Schwarzenegger's autograph on his diploma by five months.