Update: 27 Dodgers prospects will participate in winter development camp.

Jarret Martin

Twenty-seven prospects will invade Dodger Stadium this week for the club’s annual winter development camp. (Associated Press photo)

Eighteen-year-old pitching prospect Julio Urias, who was invited to his first major league spring training last week, will take part in the Dodgers’ winter development camp for prospects this week at Dodger Stadium.

Urias is one of 27 prospects who will take part in this year’s camp, up from 15 a year ago. Earlier today we posted a partial list of four prospects who will take part in the eighth annual camp (Grant Holmes, Jose De Leon, Cody Bellinger, Ryan Scott).

The other 23 participants include pitcher Zach Lee, who also took part in last year’s camp and spent all season at Triple-A. Pitchers Carlos Frias and Daniel Coulombe, who earned their first major league call-ups last September, have also been invited. Another pitcher of note is Ross Stripling, who underwent Tommy John surgery in spring training of last year.

Catcher Austin Barnes, who was acquired in the trade that sent Dee Gordon and Dan Haren to the Miami Marlins, will take part in the camp. So will outfielders Scott Schebler and Darnell Sweeney, who will be in the Dodgers’ major league spring training camp.

Urias isn’t even the youngest invitee. That would be Michael Medina, an outfielder from the Dominican Republic who is 12 days younger than Urias. He finished last season with the Rookie-league AZL Dodgers.

Shortstop prospect Corey Seager, 20, was invited to spring training but was not invited to the camp.

Here’s the full list, via DodgerInsider.com:


Chris Anderson, Daniel Coulombe, Jose De Leon, Carlos Frias, Grant Holmes, Zach Lee, Josh Ravin, Chris Reed, Ross Stripling, Julio Urias

Position players

Austin Barnes, Cody Bellinger, Buck Britton, O’Koyea Dickson, Kyle Farmer, Kyle Jensen, Adam Law, Michael Medina, Julian Leon, Chris O’Brien, Tyler Ogle, Jeremy Rathjen, Scott Schebler, Ryan Scott, Darnell Sweeney, Alex Verdugo, Shawn Zarraga


Clayton McCullough, Rick Knapp, Damon Mashore, Brady Clark, Juan Castro, Todd Takayoshi, Travis Barbary, P.J. Forbes, Bill Haselman, John Shoemaker, Jack McDowell