Game 40: For Dodgers, the new normal is worse than the old normal.

SAN FRANCISCO — Remember the good old days, when the Dodgers had the best offense of any club in a generation, averaging five runs a game?

They still are averaging five a game, remarkably. You wonder where that team was the last few days. Thursday, Madison Bumgarner piled on to Clayton Kershaw’s season-long misery by hitting a home run, something the Dodgers forgot how to do while getting swept at AT&T Park.

Hyun-Jin Ryu and Erisbel Arruebarrena — remember him? — won’t be seen in a Dodgers uniform again this year.

I’ll post some quarter-pole-of-the-season thoughts here in a bit.

Game 35: Clayton Kershaw and Jimmy Rollins do a 180.

Jimmy Rollins

Jimmy Rollins runs the bases after hitting a solo home run in the first inning off Rockies pitcher Eddie Butler on Friday. (Michael Owen Baker/Staff photographer)

Would the real Clayton Kershaw and/or Jimmy Rollins please stand up?

If you’re a Dodgers fan, you can only hope that what you saw Friday was the real deal. Kershaw struck out 10 batters in 6 ⅔ innings; Rollins went 4 for 5 and finished a triple shy of the cycle. The bullpen held on for a 6-4 win over the Rockies.

Continue reading

Video: Coors Field grounds crew clears snow from white field.

DENVER — The Dodgers and Colorado Rockies are scheduled to play a game at Coors Field in about three hours. Here’s what the field looks like now:

According to the Denver Post, a spring storm left between 1 and 10 inches overnight in metropolitan Denver. Temperatures are in the 30s but it stopped snowing earlier in the morning.

Dodgers outfielder Chris Heisey threw a couple snowballs into the empty seats. Other players are taking photos of the scenery on their phones.

Clayton Kershaw is scheduled to start the game against the Rockies’ Jorge De La Rosa.