Game 15: Death, taxes, and Zack Greinke dominates the San Diego Padres.

Zack Greinke

Zack Greinke did not allow a run in seven innings Friday, lowering his ERA for the season to 1.35. (Associated Press photo)

Zack Greinke was the panacea for all the Dodgers’ ills Friday — their taxed bullpen, their three-game losing streak. Well, almost all the ills. Can he donate a hamstring to Yasiel Puig?

Puig’s re-aggravated injury put a damper on the Dodgers’ win, their first of the week after three straight losses in San Francisco. Manager Don Mattingly sounded relieved that Greinke was able to go seven innings; Pedro Baez and Paco Rodriguez held down the eighth inning with a big assist from Jimmy Rollins. Yimi Garcia threw 12 pitches (nine were strikes) in pitching a 1-2-3 ninth inning for his first career save.

I didn’t write about Alex Guerrero today. That’s because he never left the bench. Juan Uribe had an RBI single and now has a seven-game hitting streak.

I mentioned Sunday’s “TBA” starter at the end of today’s notebook. For what it’s worth, Scott Baker is still listed as the Oklahoma City Dodgers’ starter tomorrow, Carlos Frias Sunday.

Tonight’s box score is here.

Juan Uribe returns to Dodgers lineup, Alex Guerrero to bench.

Alex Guerrero

Alex Guerrero was back on the Dodgers’ bench Tuesday after hitting the walk-off single to end Monday’s game in the 10th inning. (Hans Gutknecht/Staff photographer)

Monday night’s walk-off hero, Alex Guerrero, is back on the bench as promised, with Juan Uribe returning to the Dodgers’ starting lineup Tuesday against the Seattle Mariners after missing the last two games with a minor hamstring injury.

Here is Uribe taking ground balls at third base prior to the game:

Continue reading

Dodgers spring training 2015: Sunday lineup vs. Texas Rangers.

The Dodgers will play two split-squad games today: a home game against the Texas Rangers at Camelback Ranch, and an away game against the San Francisco Giants at Scottsdale Stadium.

The home game features an interesting look for the Dodgers. Joc Pederson, Yasiel Puig and Andre Ethier are all out. Carl Crawford is in, but Juan Uribe is batting second and Crawford is fifth.

Update (9:08 a.m.): Juan Uribe was scratched from the Dodgers’ lineup. Buck Britton will take his place at third base and bat seventh. The correct lineup is below.

Here are both lineups for the 1 p.m. game at Camelback Ranch:

Continue reading