Vegas NHL blog, part III: Mason wins rookie of the year.

After accepting the Calder Trophy, Columbus Blue Jackets netminder Steve Mason congratulated Bobby Ryan and Kris Versteeg “on their tremendous seasons.” It’s an expected loss for Ryan, who went so far as to bet on Mason earlier today at the Palms.

The final tally by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association reveals that Mason collected 121 of 132 first-place votes, for a total of 1268 points. Ryan was listed first on nine ballots and garnered the most second-place votes (84), for a total of 829 points. Versteeg was third with 323 points.

Let the record show thatRyan said he planned to thank linemate Ryan Getzlaf if he won. The top 10:

1. Steve Mason, Columbus, 1268 (121-6-2-2-0)

2. Bobby Ryan, Ducks 829 (9-84-24-9-4)
3. Kris Versteeg, Chicago, 323 (1-8-26-25-22)
4. Pekka Rinne, Nashville, 319 (0-15-34-9-17)
5. Drew Doughty, Kings, 303 (0-14-22-26-17)
6. Blake Wheeler, Boston, 157 (1-3-11-17-20)
7. Patrik Berglund, St. Louis, 128 (0-0-10-20-18)
8. T.J. Oshie, St. Louis, 30 (0-1-1-5-3)
9. Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay, 22 (0-0-0-3-13)
10. Michael Frolik, Florida 12 (0-1-1-0-0)
This entry was posted in Anaheim Ducks/NHL by J.P. Hoornstra. Bookmark the permalink.

About J.P. Hoornstra

J.P. Hoornstra covers the Dodgers, Angels and Major League Baseball for the Orange County Register, Los Angeles Daily News, Long Beach Press-Telegram, Torrance Daily Breeze, San Gabriel Valley Tribune, Pasadena Star-News, San Bernardino Sun, Inland Valley Daily Bulletin, Whittier Daily News and Redlands Daily Facts. Before taking the beat in 2012, J.P. covered the NHL for four years. UCLA gave him a degree once upon a time; when he graduated on schedule, he missed getting Arnold Schwarzenegger's autograph on his diploma by five months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *