Five CCAA golf teams advance to west Regional

Led by conference champion Sonoma State, five California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) teams received regional tournament bids to the 80-team NCAA Division II Men’s Golf Championships, the NCAA announced on Friday.

Joining the Seawolves from the eight-team West Region will be Cal State Stanislaus, Chico State, Cal State San Bernardino and Cal State Monterey Bay.

The teams will join eight others from the Northwest Region to comprise the Northwest/West Super Regional that will be conducted May 5-7 at the Adobe Creek Golf Club in Petaluma, Calif.

The top team from each region within the super regional and the top individual not with a team from each super regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 14-17 at the Division II Spring National Championships Festival in Houston, Texas. Rice University and the Harris County-Houston Sports Authority will serve as the finals co-hosts.

Ten additional teams will earn berths to the finals. These teams will be determined based on the previous three-year average of top-10 finishes of a super regional at the finals. For the 2008 championships, the additional super regional allotments are as follows:

Atlantic/Southeast – Three

Great Lakes/Central – One
South/South Central – Three
West/Northwest – Three

In addition to the five CCAA teams, two individuals from UC San Diego were selected to participate in the super regional. Juniors Billy Olsen and Nathan Phan were part of a group of five individuals that will compete in the tournament.

Sonoma State, which captured its first-ever CCAA men’s golf title on Tuesday, is currently ranked No. 2 in the latest Golfstat rankings. Cal State Stanislaus is sixth, while Chico State is No. 15, Cal State San Bernardino No. 24 and Cal State Monterey Bay No. 36.


Adobe Creek Golf Club; Petaluma, California; hosted by Sonoma State University.

Northwest Region:

1. Colorado-Colorado Springs [Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference]

2. St. Cloud State

3. Western New Mexico

4. Colorado State-Pueblo

5. Minnesota State Mankato

6. Fort Lewis

7. Nebraska-Kearney

8. Colorado Christian


1. Matt Pridey, Augustana (South Dakota)

2. Bobby Arranga, Regis (Colorado)

3. Wally Byrne, South Dakota

4. Aaron Hieb, Augustana (South Dakota)

5. Jimmy Spierings, Regis (Colorado)


1. Sonoma State [California Collegiate Athletic Conference]

2. Cal State Stanislaus

3. Western Washington

4. Cal State Chico

5. Hawaii-Hilo

6. Grand Canyon

7. Cal State San Bernardino

8. Cal State Monterey Bay


1. Nathan Phan, San Diego

2. Hiro Nezu, St. Martin’s

3. John Eisentrout, St. Martin’s

4. Dale Raybould, Northwest Nazarene

5. Billy Olson, San Diego

Winner of each region advances to finals (2 teams, 1 individual)

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email