Long Beach State wins Commisioner’s Cup; UCR sixth

Long Beach State has won the 2008-09 Big West Conference Commissioner’s Cup.  The Cup is the second for the 49er program in the 11-year history of the Cup.  The 49ers won four conference titles and averaged 110 points over the 14 conference sports in which they compete. The Cup is presented to the institution with the best overall results in the conference’s 18 sponsored sports championships.

    Cal Poly placed second in the Cup standings, the highest finish in the program’s history.  The Mustangs averaged the second-most points over the spring season which included a softball championship, a second place finish in women’s track and field and third place finishes in women’s tennis, baseball and men’s track and field.

    UC Irvine placed third for the second consecutive year.  The Anteaters won titles in men’s soccer and baseball and also won the inaugural women’s water polo tournament title.  The Anteaters also had second place finishes in men’s tennis, women’s tennis, and men’s golf.

    Despite four conference crowns, UC Santa Barbara placed fourth in the 2008-09 standings, its lowest finish in the history of the Cup.  UC Davis placed fifth, its highest finish and won a conference title in men’s golf.  UC Riverside climbed out of the cellar spot from a year ago to finish in the sixth spot this season.  The Highlanders claimed their first women’s cross country title in the fall to lead the way.

    To determine the champion for the Commissioner’s Cup, total points are summed and divided by the number of championships in which each institution competes.  Each sport champion is also given a 20-point bonus.  The Commissioner’s Cup is then awarded to the school with the highest average.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email