Cal State East Bay gets CCAA basketball tourney

The 2011 California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Men’s and Women’s Basketball Championships have been awarded to Cal State East Bay, conference commissioner Robert J. Hiegert announced on Monday.
The 16-team event will be contested March 1-5 with the semifinals and championship games slated for Pioneer Gymnasium (3,500) on the campus of Cal State East Bay in Hayward. The championship format calls for eight men’s and eight women’s teams to compete in first-round games at campus sites on March 1 with the winners advancing to the semifinals on March 4 in Hayward. The championship games will be played on Saturday, March 5.
“Through a vote of the CCAA’s Executive Council, Cal State East Bay was chosen as the championship site over Cal State San Bernardino and Humboldt State,” Hiegert said. “Since the return of the CCAA Basketball Championships in 2008, the event has continued to grow and last year’s tournament at Humboldt State set a revenue record.
“By electing Cal State East Bay as the 2011 host, Bay Area fans will have an opportunity to watch outstanding Division II college basketball,” Hiegert added. “The CCAA has a storied and rich basketball history as evidenced by Cal Poly Pomona winning to the 2010 NCAA Men’s National Championship.”
Cal State East Bay will be the third different campus to host the tournament since 2008 and will serve as a true neutral site. The Pioneers, who are in their second year as a member of the CCAA, are re-classifying from Division III to Division II, and have one year remaining before they are eligible to compete for NCAA and conference championships.
“Cal State East Bay is pleased to have the opportunity to host the CCAA basketball championships.  We are proud to be a part of a great conference and in the unique situation for 2011 of providing a neutral site for the championship in a good facility with which the conference is already familiar,” Cal State East Bay Director of Athletics Debby De Angelis said.  “Pioneer Athletics are looking forward to involving Hayward and the entire East Bay area in helping to showcase the CCAA and its great basketball programs.”
Since its return in 2008, the CCAA Tournament has been held at Cal State San Bernardino (2008 and 2009) and Humboldt State (2010).
Cal State San Bernardino is the two-time defending men’s champion while Humboldt State captured the women’s title in 2010.
2011 CCAA Basketball Championships
Pioneer Gymnasium, Hayward, Calif.
March 1-5, 2011
March 1 (Tue) – At Campus Sites
March 4 (Fri) – Hayward
Women’s Semifinal No. 1 – TBA
Women’s Semifinal No. 2 – TBA
Men’s Semifinal No. 1 – TBA
Men’s Semifinal No. 2 – TBA
March 5 (Sat) – Hayward
Women’s Championship – 5:00 p.m.
Men’s Championship – 7:30 p.m.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email