Cal State gets to host D2 volleyball finals

Cal State San Bernardino has been chosen to host the NCAA Division II Volleyball Elite Eight.

It was pretty much a no-brainer, although the NCAA hasn’t seemed real thrilled to put the event out West in the past, preferring to defer to states more centrally located. This is the first time a West team has hosted since Cal State did so eight years ago.

Why was it such an easy decision?

Well the Coyotes are ranked No. 1 and they’re the only undefeated team in the country.

If you’re the NCAA you probably want the host team to at least make it to the championship match and the Coyotes should do so, barring something totally unexpected.

The draw is set up in advance on a rotating basis. This year the Coyotes face the Southeast Region winner in the quarterfinal. That’s Flagler College from St. Augustine, Fla. That is traditionally one of the weakest regions in the country – the others being  the Atlantic and East.

And all thosre region reps are on the Coyotes’ side of the draw.

Tampa, Fla. and Concordia St. Paul, the team that has betaen the Coyotes at the national tournament the last three years, are both in the other half. So Cal State will have to play one of those – not both. And it wouldn’t be until the championship match.

The area is easily accessible and there are plenty of choice in airports. It’s going to be a heck of a lot easier getting in and out of California in December, than say, Minnesota!

The event will be held Dec. 1-3. It will be a great weekend of action. The community should come out and support the event. It’s not often you have an a national championship being decided in you’re own backyard.

Here’s the schedule so mark your calendars . .

Coussoulis Arena – hosted by Cal State San Bernardino
First Round – Dec. 1
12:00 p.m. – Tampa (32-1) vs. Bridgeport (21-7)
2:30 p.m. – Concordia-St. Paul (31-2) vs. Central Missouri (30-4)
5:00 p.m. – Wheeling Jesuit (36-3) vs. Hillsdale (30-2)
7:30 p.m. – Cal State San Bernardino (30-0) vs. Flagler (31-6)

Semifinals – Dec. 2
5:00 p.m. – Semifinal One
7:30 p.m. – Semifinal Two

Finals – Dec. 3
7:00 p.m.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email