Cal State’s Alexcia Mack top player of week

Alexcia Mack

Junior All-CCAA guard Alexcia Mack has played a big role in leading the Coyotes to their best start in four seasons and Tuesday she was name CCAA Player of the Week.

She averaged 17 points, four assists, two rebounds and 1.5 steals in 31 minutes and was named the UC San Diego Thanksgiving Classic’s most valuable player.

She scored a season-high 22 points on 6-of-10 shooting with nine free throws in CSUSB’s 83-74 win over Academy of Art. One day earlier, she scored 12 points in the Coyotes’ 61-60 win over Azusa Pacific.

Mack and the 4-0 Coyotes will take their unbeaten record to Northern California this week in the CCAA opener. They’ll face Sonoma State on Friday and San Francisco State on Saturday.

The conference honor is the Corona native’s first in her career. It is the first time a Coyote has been honored since Trinidee Trice on Jan. 7-13, 2013.


Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Cal State’s Casey Oldemoppen honored by CCAA

Casey Oldemoppen

Cal State San Bernardino’s Casey Oldemoppen has been named the California Collegiate Athletic Association Men’s Basketball Player of the Week for Nov. 24-Nov. 30.

The senior forward from Stuart, Fla. helped the Coyotes to a 82-71 victory and a season sweep over Humboldt State on Saturday.

In just 22 minutes played, Oldemoppen scored a career-high 17 points on eight-for-10 shooting from the floor. He also tallied two rebounds and two steals on the night.

CCAA Men’s Basketball Player of the Week
Nov. 14-16 Terrence Drisdom (Cal Poly Pomona)
Nov. 17-23 Isaiah Morton (Cal State San Bernardino)
Nov. 24-30 Casey Oldemoppen (Cal State San Bernardino)

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Four Cal State volleyball players net All-CCAA honors


The Cal State San Bernardino volleyball team settled for second in the CCAA this season, snapping a streak of eight straight titles.

But four Coyotes were among those earning All-Conference honors.

Among the others is Alta Loma graduate Loreal Carter who plays at Cal State Los Angeles.

The entire list is:

Player of Year - Kelsey Hull, Sonoma State
Setter of Year - Torey Thompson, Chico State
Libero of Year - Haley Biles, Humboldt State
Newcomer of Year - Nicole Bewely, Humboldt State
Freshman of Year - Kelsey Molnar, Cal State Los Angeles
Coach of Year - Bear Grassl, Sonoma State

First team
Nicole Bewely, Jr., MB, Sonoma State
Haley Biles, Jr., L, Humboldt State
Caitlin Brenton, Sr., OPP, UC San Diego
Madelyn Densberger, Jr., OH, Sonoma State
Kelsey Hull, Sr., OH, Sonoma State
Iona Lofrano, Jr., OH, Cal State Los Angeles
Tori May, Sr., MB, Cal State San Bernardino
Brenna McIntosh, Jr., MB, Cal State San Bernardino

Lindsay Quigley, Sr., MB, Chico State
Caylie Seitz, Jr., OH, Sonoma State
Torey Thompson, Soph., S, Chico State
Alexandra Torline, Jr., OH, Cal State San Bernardino

Second team
Deanna Blaine, Fr., OH< Cal Poly Pomona
Jacquie Brice, Sr., S, San Francisco State
Loreal Carter, Sr., RS, Cal State Los Angeles
Jaclyn Clark, Jr., OH, San Francisco State
Kaitlyn Dunaway, Jr., RS, Humboldt State
Alijah Gunsaulus, Jr., OH, Cal State Dominguez Hills
Amber Hall, Sr., OH, Cal State East Bay
Jessica Malcolm, Jr., OH, Cal State Monterey Bay
Arielle McCullough, Sr., L, Cal State San Bernardino
Kelsey Molnar, Fr., S, Cal State Los Angeles
Ashley Owen, Sr., OH, Humboldt State
Calan Seitz, Fr., S, Sonoma State
Nicoletta Stork, Jr., S, Cal Poly Pomona

Honorable mention - Cortney Seda, Sonoma State; Danielle Dahle, UC San Diego; Julia Ashen, Cal State Monterey Bay; Alexa Hasen, Cal Poly Pomona.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email