SCIAC honors top men’s soccer players

Richie Marquez


Player of the Year – Richie Marquez, Sr., Defense – Redlands
Newcomer of the Year – Mike Crowley, Fr., Midfielder – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Brine Award of Distinction – Thomas Kwok, Sr., Midfielder – Caltech

All-SCIAC First Team

G – Jack Duncan, So. – Cal Lutheran
F – Nick Echeverry, Sr. – Chapman
F – Charles Izydorek, Jr. – Redlands
F – Hogan Marhoefer, So. – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
F – Evan Keny-Guyer, Sr. – Redlands
M – Boye Christiansen, Jr. – LaVerne
M – Francis Maxwell, Sr. – Whittier
M – Matej Kustura, Jr. – Redlands
M – Michael Crowley, Fr. – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
D – Andrew Gennen, Sr. – LaVerne
D – Ivan Sanchez, Sr. – Cal Lutheran
D – Willie O’Malley, Jr. – Whittier
D – Jaison Kimura, Jr. – Clarmont-Mudd-Scripps

All-SCIAC Second Team

G – Andreas Silva, Sr. – Redlands
F – Nathan Gonzalez, Fr. – LaVerne
F – Kyle Fleming, Jr. – Cal Lutheran
F – Devin Guthrie, Jr. – Whittier
F – Marcus Brandford, Sr. – Occidental
M – Fernando Almejo, Sr. – LaVerne
M – Salvador Orozca, Jr. – Cal Lutheran
M – Boston Kimmel, So. – Chapman
M – Dylan Fortin, So. – Whittier
D – Iam Cromwell, Sr. – Whittier
D – Tom Elsea, Fr. – Redlands
D – Paul Picciano, So. – Pomona-Pitzer
D – Elijah Lichtenberg, Fr. – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

All-SCIAC Volleyball team named

Allie Frappier

Athlete of the Year – Allie Frappier, Jr. – Pomona-Pitzer
Freshman of the Year – Nicole Kerkhof, Fr. – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

All-SCIAC First Team

OH – Nicole Kerkhof, Fr. – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
OH – Kylie McLogan, Sr. – Cal Lutheran
OH – Allie Eason, So. – Cal Lutheran
MB – Val Geiger, Jr. – Chapman
MB – Stephanie Gann, Sr. – Occidental
S – Hilary Bruegl, Sr. – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
L – Megan Coleman, Jr. – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

All-SCIAC Second Team
OH – Brittany Yaxley, So. – La Verne
OH – Morgan Buckner, Sr. – Redlands
OH – Audrey Breitwieser, So. – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
MB – Lauren Rohach, Sr. – Cal Lutheran
MB – Hayley Tamagni, Sr. – Cal Lutheran
S – Jackie Russell, Sr. – Cal Lutheran
L – Madyson Cassidy, Sr. – Occidental

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

CMS kicker honored and more on his 62-yard field goal

Freshman kicker Matthew Aven has been named SCIAC Male Athlete of the Week and also has been selected to the Team of the Week for his efforts in the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps football team’s game at Cal Lutheran on Saturday.

The Texas native made a NCAA Division III-record tying 62-yard field goal in the game in addition to a 50-yarder, both in the first half. Aven is now 5-of-8 on field goals this season and has made kicks from 50, 53 and 62 yards.

The 62-yard field goal is a CMS and SCIAC record and it tied the Division III mark set by Dom Antonini of Rowan in a game vs. Salisbury on Sept. 18, 1976. Some notes from the NCAA record books about the longest field goals made in NCAA history.

  • 67 yards is the all-NCAA record for longest field goal made. That feat has been accomplished four times at the NCAA level, most recently in 1988.
  • 65 yards is the all-NCAA record for longest field goal made without a kicking tee. That was accomplished by Martin Gramatica of Kansas State in 1998.
  • NCAA Division II and NCAA Division III do not track records for the longest field goal made by a freshman, but the NCAA Division I (FBS) record is 61 yards by Kyle Bryant of Texas A & M in 1994 while the NCAA Division I (FCS) record is 60 yards.
  • Ove Johansson, Abilene Christian (not an NCAA-member college at the time), kicked a 69-yard field goal against East Texas St. (now Tex. A&M-Commerce), Oct. 16, 1976, the longest collegiate field goal.

LONGEST FIELD GOALS (From NCAA Individual and Team Collegiate Records)

Yds.     Div.     Player,              Team (Opponent)                               Year
67         II       Tom Odle,            Fort Hays St. (Washburn)                   1988
67        FBS    Joe Williams,        Wichita St. (Southern Ill.)                  1978
67        FBS    Russell Erxleben,  Texas (Rice)                                     1977
67        FBS    Steve Little,         Arkansas (Texas)                                1977
65        FBS    Martin Gramatica, Kansas St. (Northern Ill.)                   1998
65        FBS    Tony Franklin,         Texas A&M (Baylor)                         1976
64        II       Garrett Lindholm,     Tarleton St. (Tex. A&M-Kingsville)    2009
64        FBS     Jose Martinez,         UTEP (UCF)                                   2008
64        FBS     Russell Erxleben,     Texas (Oklahoma)                         1977
64        FBS     Tony Franklin,         Texas A&M (Baylor)                        1976
63        FCS     Bill Gramatica,     South Fla. (Austin Peay)                    2000
63        FCS     Tim Foley, Ga.         Southern (James Madison)            1987
63        FCS     Scott Roper,         Arkansas St. (North Texas)               1987
63        FBS     Morten Andersen,    Michigan St. (Ohio St.)                   1981
63        FBS     Clark Kemble,         Colorado St. (Arizona)                    1975
63        II        Joe Duren,         Arkansas St. (McNeese St.)                  1974
62        III      Matt Aven        Clar-Mudd-Scripps (Cal Lutheran)        2013
62        II        Eddy Carmona,         Harding (East Central)                     2011
62        FCS     Billy Cundiff,         Drake (San Diego)                             2000
62        FBS     Terance Kitchens,     Texas A&M (Southern Miss.)        1999
62        II        Doc Proctor,         Ferris St. (Michigan Tech)                   1999
62        FBS     Jason Hanson,         Washington St. (UNLV)                1991
62        FBS     John Diettrich,     Ball St. (Ohio)                                   1986
62        FCS     Paul Hickert,         Murray St. (Eastern Ky.)                   1986
62#     FBS     Chip Lohmiller,     Minnesota (Iowa)                                1986
62        FBS     Tom Whelihan,         Missouri (Colorado)                       1986
62        FBS     Dan Christopulos,    Wyoming (Colorado St.)                1977
62        FBS     Iseed Khoury,         North Texas (Richmond)                  1977
62         III     Dom Antonini,        Rowan (Salisbury)                               1976
62        FBS     Dave Lawson,         Air Force (Iowa St.)                          1975
62        II     Mike Flater,         Colorado Mines (Western St.)                   1973

#Longest field goal made indoors.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email