All-CCAA softball team unveiled, features locals

Here is the complete All-CCAA softball team:

Player of Year: Hanna Holland, Humboldt State
Pitcher of Year: Katie Obbema, Humboldt State
Coach of Year: Shelli Sarchett, Humboldt State
Freshman of Year: Maddy Lewis, UC San Diego
Newcomer of Year: Cyrena Taylor, Jr., Chico State

First team
P Katie Obbema, Sr., Humboldt State
P Madison Williams, Jr., Humboldt State
C Brynn Lesovsky, Sr., Chico State
1B Cyrena Taylor, Jr., Chico State
2B Tiffany Hollingsworth, Jr., Humboldt State
3B Maddy Lewis, Fr., UC San Diego
SS Jennifer Lewis, Sr., San Francisco State
OF Hanna Holland, Soph., Humboldt State
OF Kelsi Maday, Soph., UC San Diego
OF Alli Cook, Sr., Chico State
DP Desiree Gonzalez, Sr., Chico State
UT Sierra Clark Sr., Cal State East Bay
UT Kaylee Gemmell, Soph., Cal State San Bernardino
AL-P Amanda Llerena, Sr., Sonoma State
AL-NP Bianca Noriega, Sr., Cal State Monterey Bay

Second team
P Lexi Edwards, Sr., UC San Diego
P Brooke Langeloh, Sr., Chico State
C Emma Schneider, Sr., UC San Diego
1B Breonna Bejeran, Jr., Humboldt State
2B Courtney Hennings, Fr., Cal State Monterey Bay
3B Carlie Daniel, Sr., Sonoma State
SS Cyndi Chavez, Sr., Humboldt State
OF Taylor Abeyta, Sr., UC San Diego
OF Morgan Ratliff, Fr., Cal State San Bernardino
OF Courtney Varela, Jr., Cal State Monterey Bay
DP Alee Balanon Fr., Sonoma State
UT-NP Lauren Sanders, Soph., UC San Diego
AL-OF Cassidy Duke, Sr., Cal State Stanislaus
AL-C Darian Harris, Sr., Humboldt State
AL-SS Alexus Martinez, Fr., Cal State Stanislaus

Honorable mention: Cassandra Williams, CS San Bernardino; Ali Cerminara, CS East Bay; Sarah Langley, Sonoma State; Jena Kaser, Sonoma State; Madison Castro, CS Monterey Bay; Amanda Herrera, CS San Bernardino; Ruby Quiralte, CS Stanislaus; Julie Pena, Humboldt State; Rose Marston, CS East Bay; Jasmine Ruiz, CS Dominguez Hills; Annelise Lopez, CS Monterey Bay; Alison Strycula, Sonoma State; Jordann White, Sonoma State; Jessica Angulo, CS San Bernardino; Analisa Nicholson, CS Dominguez Hills; Robin Alvaro, CS San Marcos.

** Taylor is graduate of Los Osos High School while Gonzalez is out of Etiwanda. Duke is a product of Upland High School.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

SBVC’s Michael Teran sets record in track event

Michael Teran

San Bernardino Valley College freshman track standout Michael Teran turned in a record-breaking performance at the Occidental Distance Carnival on Saturday.


The Jurupa Hills graduate ran a 14:23.90 in the 5,000 meters which broke the record of 14:35.2 set by Gabe Hernandez in 1999.

He was 11th overall in that event but it included runners from four-year schools as well as individual track club entrants. Brandon Vinetos of Loyola Marymount was the event winner in 14:11.77.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

SCIAC releases All-Conference honors in men’s basketball

The SCIAC has announced its list of honors in men’s basketball. Here is the complete rundown:

Athlete of the Year
Cam Haslam FR G Chapman
Newcomer of the Year
Daniel Rosenbaum FR G Pomona-Pitzer
Ted Ducey Award
Kc Emezie SR G/F Caltech
Coach of the Year
Mike Bokosky Chapman
All-Conference Teams
First Team
Hakim Arnold JR G U of La Verne
Al Bjekovic SR G U  of Redlands
Gibson Farone-Collins SR F Pomona-Pitzer
Luke Hamlin JR G Chapman
Eric Jennings SR G Whittier
Jay Miller JR G Occidental
Second Team
Andrew Johnson JR F Occidental
Shelby Lane SR C Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Nasser Al-Rayes JR F/C Caltech
James Taylor SO F Chapman
Andrew Torres SR F Whittier
Dan Wade SR G California Lutheran


Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email