Foothill Conference honors out in women’s basketball

Coach of the Year: Sue Crebbin, San Bernardino Valley
Player of Year: Chelsea Waddy-Blow, Chaffey

First team
Ruby Carrillo, College of the Desert
Ashley Carson, San Bernardino Valley
Rachel Connor, Chaffey
Sydney Gray, San Bernardino Valley
Justine Manjarrez, Rio Hondo
Shawnequa Norwood, Barstow
Ashley Rendon, Rio Hondo
Emily Rodriguez, Victor Valley
Tichina Savoy, Barstow
Denisha Spivey, Chaffey
Amanda Villegas, San Bernardino Valley

Second team
Bianca Gutierrez, Chaffey
Alexis Hernandez, Rio Hondo
Chantal Jacobs, Barstow
Bryanna Lopez, Victor Valley
Nautica Simmons, San Bernardino Valley

Honorable mention: Jasmine Hickey, San Bernardino Valley; Hannah Hughes, College of the Desert; Chanel Lyles, Barstow; Haley McKinley; Danna Robles, Rio Hondo.
Caryne Toribio, Collee of the Desert

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Cal State San Bernardino’s Nicole Nobbe gets national honor

Nicole Nobbe

Senior shortstop Nicole Nobbe of Cal State San Bernardino and has been named NFCA Division II National Player of the Week for Feb. 10-15.

Nobbe was on fire in seven games, batting .727 (16-22) and recording a .793 on base percentage from the leadoff spot. The Merced native scored at least one run in every game with four multiple run-scoring contests and finished the week with 12. She also posted four doubles, two home runs,
nine RBI and five walks.

Nobbe, earlier named the CCAA Player of the week, had six multiple-hit games, highlighted by a four-hit effort against Simon Fraser at the Desert Stinger Classic.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Natalia Ponce of Citrus makes college decision

Citrus College sophomore midfielder Natalia Ponce has signed with NCAA Division I University of Lousiana at Monroe.

Ponce wrapped up an impressive two-year career for the Owls this past season, earning first team All-Western States South Conference honors. She started all 21 games for Citrus, handing out seven assists, scoring once, and totaling nine points.

As a freshman Ponce was a send team All-WSC South selection after appearing in all 22 matches with 20 starts, scoring a goal and handing out three assists.

In addition to her success on the field, Ponce was also a two-time Citrus College Scholar Baller and was also a two-time All-Western State Conference All-Academic team member.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email