Former CS San Bernardino standout Jordan Burris chosen by Defenders

Jordan Burris

Jordan Burris, who helped the Cal State San Bernardino men’s basketball team to the CCAA basketball championship last season, was selected in the fifth round by the Los Angeles D-Fenders in the NBA D-League’s draft Saturday.

The Bakersfield native spent his first three seasons at the University of Nevada and finished his collegiate career for coach Jeff Oliver and the Coyotes, averaging 14.8 points and 5.6 rebounds a game. He had five 20-point games with a team season-high 31 against eventual NCAA West Region champ Chico State.

Said D-Fenders GM Nick Mazella: “(Jordan) came to two of our tryouts and was really impressive in both of them. He was an All-CCAA (California Collegiate Athletic Association) second team (player) last year, and we able to get a good look at him.”

The D-Fenders open the D-League on Nov. 14 against Santa Cruz.

The NBA Development League is the official minor league of the National Basketball Association with 18 teams across the country from California to Maine. The Los Angeles D-Fenders play in the West Division with Santa Cruz, Reno, Idaho and Bakersfield.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Saturday’s Community College football scores


A rundown of all the scores from Saturday’s action:

Chaffey 36, El Camino 25
Riverside 27, Long Beach 21
Mt. SAC 62, Los Angeles Harbor 14
Santa Barbara 49, Antelope Valley 21
Orange Coast 36, Santa Ana 30
Allan Hancock 52, Pasadena 14
Fullerton 21, Saddleback 16
Ventura 64, College of Canyons 35
Cerritos 43, Moorpark 33
Golden West 33, Palomar 19

San Bernardino Valley 68, Compton 7
Victor Valley 28, Mt. San Jacinto 21
Glendale 35, West Los Angeles 10
Santa Monica 56, Los Angeles Southwest 27
San Diego Mesa 9, East Los Angeles 7
Los Angeles Pearce 55, Los Angeles Valley 48
College of the Desert 41, Southwestern 33


Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Riverside takes over No. 1 post in JC football poll

The new JC football polls are out and there has been some shuffling, especially at the top where Riverside moves into the No. 1 spot afte a victory over Mt. SAC

The complete rundown follows:


1. Riverside (6-1); 2. Long Beach (6-1); 3. Mt. SAC (6-2); 4. Fullerton (6-2); 5. Golden West (5-2); 6. Palomar (5-2); 7. Ventura (4-3); 8. Chaffey (4-3); 9. Cerritos (5-3); 10. Bakersfield (4-4); 11. Saddleback (4-4); 12. College of the Canyons (3-4); 13. Grossmont (3-5); 14. Santa Ana (3-4); 15. Citrus (3-5), El Camino (3-4).


1.  Victor Valley (7-0); 2. Southwestern (6-1); 3. Santa Barbara (6-1); 4. Santa Monica (4-3); 5. Glendale (6-1); 6. San Bernardino Valley (4-3); 7. Mt. San Jacinto (3-4); 8. College of the Desert (4-3); 9., tie, Los Angeles Valey (3-4) and West Los Angeles (3-4).



Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email