Cal Poly Pomona baseball coach will get to face old friend

The Cal Poly Pomona baseball team will take on University of Tampa (Fla.) on Sunday in the NCAA Division II Elite 8 in Cary, N.C.

A couple of old friends will have their teams square off in a first round game. Cal Poly Pomona coach Randy Betten was a teammate of Tampa coach Joe Urso in 1996 with the Lake Elsinore Storm, then an Angels minor league affiliate.

The two have kept in touch. It was Urso that told Betten if his team won the West regional theirs would be squaring off in the College World Series.

The Broncos (43-15) are making their first appearance in that event in 30 years. Betten’s team finished first in the CCAA in the regular season, then won the postseason conference tournament to win the automatic bid to the West Region which it hosted.

Tampa (39-13) is the South Region champion and making its 16th straight NCAA appearance, including ones in all 15 years Urso has been at the helm.

Here’s what Betten had to say about facing his old friend’s team:

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

University of La Verne’s Kelby Scharmann wins national championship

Senior Kelby Scharmann of the University of La Verne shot a 72-hole total of 9-under 279 to claim the Leopards first-ever individual medalist honors at the NCAA Division III Men’s Golf National Championship at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro (N.C.).

“I remember my freshman year looking through our record books and seeing that we had never won a championship and I really wanted that,” Scharmann said. “I thought this was something that I could achieve, but it was so far down the road and I didn’t know what it meant.
“To be the first in La Verne history is really cool.”

Scharmann won by six shots over Anthony Maccaglia of Oglethorpe and Jeff Wells of Methodist, but competition was tighter than that.

Maccaglia and Scharmann went into the final round tied for first at seven under par and matched each other shot-for-shot on the front nine on Friday, with both making the turn at even.

Scharmann, playing three holes ahead of Maccaglia, blinked first as he bogeyed his 11th and 13th holes. Maccaglia then birdied the 10th to grab a three-shot lead.

“I had asked my mom after I bogeyed my 13th hole and she told me I was three shots back at that point,” Scharmann said. “Did I think it was over? Kind of. Did I think it was outside of the realm of possibility that I could still win? No. I just kept doing what I’ve doing all year, just trying to clear my head, just keep swinging away and letting it happen.”

Scharmann nailed an eagle on par-5 No. 6 to get back within one stroke of Maccaglia and saved par on No. 7 to pull even with Maccaglia as the Oglethorpe senior bogeyed his No. 4. Scharmann then sank two straight birdies to close out the tournament and saw Maccaglia drop four strokes in his last five holes.

The University of Redlands finished fifth and was the highest local team finisher. The Bulldogs finished at 15-over 303 for the day, their worst showing of the four days, to finish at 34-over 1,186 for the 72 holes. Anthony Estes was the top Redlands player, finishing eighth (290).

Methodist (N.C.) finished first at 1,173, three strokes ahead of runner-up La Grange.

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps was 13th (1,217) and the University of La Verne 14th (1,219).

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

All-SCIAC honors are out in baseball


Pomona-Pitzer’s Sam Fox is SCIAC Athlete of the Year in baseball

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its honorees for the 2015 baseball season. Here is the complete list of those honored.


Athlete of the Year: Sam Fox Pomona-Pitzer
Pitcher of the Year: Michael Collins, Jr., University of Redlands
Newcomer of the Year: Felix Minjarez, Fr., University of Redlands
Coach of Year: Scott Winterburn, University of La Verne

First team
P Brett Early, Jr., La Verne
P Felix Minjuarez, Fr., Redlands
C Sean McMillan, Sr., Redlands
C Stephen Zavala, Sr., Whittier
1B Simon Rosenbaum, Jr., Pomoma-Pitzer
1B Ben White, Jr., La Verne
2B Christopher Scalisi, Soph., Redlands
3B Tyler Cook, Jr., Chapman
SS Jordan Dresner, Sr., Redlands
OF Ramsey Abushala, Jr., Cal Lutheran
OF Devon DeRaad, Soph., Occidental
OF Tanner Nishioka, Soph., Pomona-Pitzer
DH Collin Crowl, Sr., Cal Lutheran

Second team
P Derek Kearney, Sr., Caltech
P Nick Byrd, Fr., La Verne
P Javi Iniguez, Sr., La Verne
P Scott Erickson, Jr., Occidental
C Spencer Dubois, Sr., Cal Lutheran
C Victor Munoz, Sr., Occidental
3B Kyle Sanchez, Soph., Cal Lutheran
SS John Wiehe, Jr., Chapman
OF Connor Hancock, Sr., Redlands
OF Mitch Samson, Jr., Redlands
UT Mark Jebba, Sr., La Verne
UT Jake Bruml, Sr., Pomona-Pitzer
DH MacKenzie Menthen, Jr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

All-Conference Sportsmanship Team
Ryan Casey, Caltech; Landry Kiyabu, Cal Lutheran; Jared Love, Chapman; Mike Gose, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps; Mariano Padilla, La Verne; AJ Libuano, Occidental; EJ Lopez, Pomona-Pitzer; Mark Tumlinson, REedlands; Chris Sekigucho, Whittier.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email