Chaffey College reps lead All-Foothill Conference selections

Here are the All-Foothill Conference selections in baseball for the Foothill Conference:

COACH OF THE YEAR: Jeff Harlow, Chaffey

PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Joe Wills, Rio Hondo

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kevin Riley, Chaffey

Jordan Abernathy, Rio Hondo
Jordan Babbitt, San Bernardino Valley
Breion Barron, San Bernardino Valley
Brady Carlson, Rio Hondo
Anthony Franco, Rio Hondo
Isaiah Haro, Chaffey
D.J. Hernandez, College of the Desert
Dominique Hernandez, Cerro Coso
Cody Palmer, Chaffey
Tyler Penix, San Bernardino Valley
Sean Romo, College of the Desert
Caleb Squire, Barstow
Travis Tanaka, College of the Desert
Gerardo Torreblanca, San Bernardino Valley
Easton Withers, Barstow
Jonah Yang, Barstow

Anthony Aguila, San Bernardino Valley
Jacob Arguello, Chaffey
Gabe Chavez, Rio Hondo
Logan Copperton, Chaffey
Cole Danielson, College of the Desert
Jesus Gonzalez, San Bernardino Valley
Mauricio Guadarrama, Rio Hondo
Daniel Honorof, Chaffey
Patrick Keller, Chaffey
Kayln Kimmel, Barstow
Cameron LeGrand, Rio Hondo
Aaron McCann, Chaffey
David Osuna, San Bernardino Valley
Billy Reyes, San Bernardino Valley
Chris Rocco, San Bernardino Valley
R.J. Romo, Rio Hondo
Taylor Sims, Chaffey
Albert Vargas, Chaffey

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Max Barkeley to finish college career at Antelope Valley

Local basketball standout Max Barkeley has decided to use his last year of eligibility at NAIA University of Antelope Valley in Lancaster.

It will be the last stop for the shooting guard who played for two years at Victor Valley College, before transferring to Simon Fraser University (Vancouver, Canada) where he exhausted his junior year in 2015-2016.

It was a tough season at the Canadian school for Barkeley, a Rim of the World High School graduate. He was slowed by a pair of concussions and his playing career never really got back on track at that school.

Barkeley was also considering Cal State San Bernardino, Cal State Los Angeles, Cal State San Marcos and Sonoma State Рall NCAA Division II schools in the same conference.  But the transfer of credits from a Canadian school as well as other  issues meant he was destined for an NAIA school as opposed to an NCAA school.

“I am close to graduating so I wanted to find the place that will keep me on that path and there were a lot of hoops to jump through with many NCAA schools. Also coach (Brad) Rogers is a great coach with a proven track record so with one year left I wanted to finish strong both academically and athletically,” he said.

Barkeley has three semesters left for a degree in criminal justice.


Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

La Verne’s Katherine Kibbe heads All-SCIAC softball team

Five Leopards earn All-SCIAC softball honors; Smith Coach of the Year

Here is complete list of those honored in the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference for softball:

Athlete of Year: Katherine Kibbe, Sr., University of La Verne
Pitcher of Year: Anna Gurr, Soph., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Newcomers of Year: Liz Rodarte, Pomona-Pitzer, Kacey Whitney, Whittier
Coaching Staff of Year: La Verne

First team
P Liz Rodarte, Fr., Pomona-Pitzer
P Samantha Blum, Jr., Whittier
C Lisa Perez, Sr., Chapman
1B Alexis Schiff, Jr., La Verne
2B Vicki King, Sr., Redlands
3B Mackenzie Dutton, Sr., La Verne
SS Raeleen Tellez, Sr., La Verne
OF AJ Carrasco, Sr., Redlands
OF Tara Robinson, Sr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
OF Sienna Kendricks, Fr., La Verne
UT Bianca Cockrell, Jr., Pomona-Pitzer
DP Briana Hatte, Soph., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
AL Blake Lewis, Sr., Cal Lutheran

Second team
P Lauren Henson, Sr., Redlands
P Molly Rubidoux, Sr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
C Dani Santos, Sr., Redlands
1B Katie Savard, Sr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
2B Lauren Ganbdi, Jr., Whittier
3B Abigail Metsch, Fr., Clarermont-Mudd-Scripps
SS Carly Roleder, Soph., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
OF Kacey Whitney, Fr., Whittier
OF Amanda Lewis, Jr., Cal Lutheran
OF Grace Rose, Sr., Redlands
UT Analisa Ruff, Fr., Chapman
DP Sarah Crawford, Fr., Whittier
AL Marialena Ahern, Soph., Whittier

Sportsmanship Team
Abbigael Howard, Soph., Cal Lutheran; Natalie Both, Sr., Chapman; Carlene Roberts, Sr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps; Victoria Balatzar, Sr., La Verne; Alex Battest Jr., Occidental; Aryana Yee, Sr., Pomona-Pitzer; Summer Smith, Soph., Redlands.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email