All-CCAA softball team unveiled, features locals

Here is the complete All-CCAA softball team:

Player of Year: Hanna Holland, Humboldt State
Pitcher of Year: Katie Obbema, Humboldt State
Coach of Year: Shelli Sarchett, Humboldt State
Freshman of Year: Maddy Lewis, UC San Diego
Newcomer of Year: Cyrena Taylor, Jr., Chico State

First team
P Katie Obbema, Sr., Humboldt State
P Madison Williams, Jr., Humboldt State
C Brynn Lesovsky, Sr., Chico State
1B Cyrena Taylor, Jr., Chico State
2B Tiffany Hollingsworth, Jr., Humboldt State
3B Maddy Lewis, Fr., UC San Diego
SS Jennifer Lewis, Sr., San Francisco State
OF Hanna Holland, Soph., Humboldt State
OF Kelsi Maday, Soph., UC San Diego
OF Alli Cook, Sr., Chico State
DP Desiree Gonzalez, Sr., Chico State
UT Sierra Clark Sr., Cal State East Bay
UT Kaylee Gemmell, Soph., Cal State San Bernardino
AL-P Amanda Llerena, Sr., Sonoma State
AL-NP Bianca Noriega, Sr., Cal State Monterey Bay

Second team
P Lexi Edwards, Sr., UC San Diego
P Brooke Langeloh, Sr., Chico State
C Emma Schneider, Sr., UC San Diego
1B Breonna Bejeran, Jr., Humboldt State
2B Courtney Hennings, Fr., Cal State Monterey Bay
3B Carlie Daniel, Sr., Sonoma State
SS Cyndi Chavez, Sr., Humboldt State
OF Taylor Abeyta, Sr., UC San Diego
OF Morgan Ratliff, Fr., Cal State San Bernardino
OF Courtney Varela, Jr., Cal State Monterey Bay
DP Alee Balanon Fr., Sonoma State
UT-NP Lauren Sanders, Soph., UC San Diego
AL-OF Cassidy Duke, Sr., Cal State Stanislaus
AL-C Darian Harris, Sr., Humboldt State
AL-SS Alexus Martinez, Fr., Cal State Stanislaus

Honorable mention: Cassandra Williams, CS San Bernardino; Ali Cerminara, CS East Bay; Sarah Langley, Sonoma State; Jena Kaser, Sonoma State; Madison Castro, CS Monterey Bay; Amanda Herrera, CS San Bernardino; Ruby Quiralte, CS Stanislaus; Julie Pena, Humboldt State; Rose Marston, CS East Bay; Jasmine Ruiz, CS Dominguez Hills; Annelise Lopez, CS Monterey Bay; Alison Strycula, Sonoma State; Jordann White, Sonoma State; Jessica Angulo, CS San Bernardino; Analisa Nicholson, CS Dominguez Hills; Robin Alvaro, CS San Marcos.

** Taylor is graduate of Los Osos High School while Gonzalez is out of Etiwanda. Duke is a product of Upland High School.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

University of La Verne leads All-SCIAC women’s water awards

Women's Water Polo falls at Whittier

Post season honors have been handed our in women’s water polo for the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. The University of La Verne had an outstanding season and leads the list of honorees.

Here is the full list of those honored:

Athlete of Year: Angelica Hernandez, Sr., Whittier
Newcomer of Year: Guarina Garcia, Fr., La Verne
Coaching Staff of Year: University of La Verne, head coach William Rodriguez

First team
Cynthia Castillo, Sr., Whittier
Jocelyn Castro, Soph., Pomona-Pitzer
Ahsha Earwood, Soph., Pomona-Pitzer
Guarina Garcia, Fr., La Verne
Isabella Gorrocino, Jr., Whittier
Roxy Kiessling, Soph., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Alison Quincy, Sr., Chapman
Stephanie Rosero, Jr., La Verne

Second team
Taylor Christie, Sr., Redlands
Emily Fong, Jr., Chapman
Jessica Gaffney, Soph., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Amanda Jones, Sr., Cal Lutheran
Annie Kinney, Sr., Redlands
Zyania Morales, Jr., Whittier
Jenel Rivera, Jr., Whittier
Christina Williamson, Jr., Pomona-Pitzer

Sportsmanship Team
Kate Avery, Sr., Chapman
Caitlyn Freeman, Sr., Redlands
Amanda Jones, Sr., Cal Lutheran
Soumya Kannan, Sr., Caltech
Lizzy Kosin, Sr., Occidental
Kendra New, Sr., La Verne
Nicole Orozco, Sr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Megan Snow, Sr., Pomona-Pitzer
Jasmine Villalpando, Sr., Whittier

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Chino grad Tiffany Kennedy-Cummings earns honor for Mt. SAC

Tiffany Kennedy-Cummings had quite the senior season in 2015 at Chino High School. Well she picked up where she left off as a freshman this year at Mt. SAC.

Tiffany Kennedy-Cummings

Kennedy-Cummings has been named state Pitcher of the Year in helping the Mounties to another stellar showing.

Kennedy-Cummings went 13-2 with 2 saves and an 0.94 ERA. That ERA was the best in Southern California and second in the entire state. She managed 113 strikeouts in 127 innings.

Among the highlights of her season was a perfect game in the regular season finale against Orange Coast won by the Mounties 12-0 in five innings.

Also earning All-So Cal honors are Aimee Rodriguez and Jessica Olivera of Mt. SAC, Bonita High School grad Celine Spathias of Citrus and Jordan Emanuele and Redlands East Valley grad Danielle Lopez of Riverside.




Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email