Redlands men’s soccer team earns preseason national ranking

Bulldog Men's Soccer Earns Trio of NSCAA All-West Region Honors

The University of Redlands men’s soccer team will start the season ranked No. 21 in NCAA Division III by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America’s (NSCAA).

Such rankings are usually based heavily on a team’s showing the previous year. Last year the Bulldogs won both the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) regular-season championship and the SCIAC Postseason Tournament title and finished 17-4-2 overall.

The Bulldogs return four first-team All-SCIAC honorees – junior defender Keoni Yates,  junior forward Chase Boone, junior midfielder Casey Chubb-Fertal and sophomore Kayvon Parsa, who was also named the SCIAC Newcomer of the Year.

Redlands opens new season with an exhibition game in Carson against Division II Cal State Dominguez Hills at 7 p.m. on Aug.25.

The Bulldogs then face Fontbonne University (Mo.) on Sunday, Sept. 4 in the first home contest of the season.


Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Cal Poly Pomona basketball team headed to Taiwan

Quentin Taylor

The Cal Poly Pomona men’s basketball team won’t be waiting until October to crank it up for the coming season like normal.

The Broncos are going to have to be prepared much earlier as they have been selected to play in an international event in Taiwan next month.

The squad, coached by Greg Kamansky, will be taking part in a goodwill event called the Buddha Light International Association Cup tournament, to be held Aug. 16-21.

“It will be a great experience for our players, not just from a basketball standpoint but a cultural standpoint as well,” Kamansky said. “This isn’t something you get to do often so we are grateful for the opportunity.”


The tournament will feature eight men’s teams and eight women’s teams, with representation from the USA, France, Canada, Japan, Malaysia, Korea, the Philippines, and People’s Republic of China. Cal Poly Pomona will play at least four games at the Kaohsiung Arena in Taiwan.

The BLIA Cup is a sport cultural exchange organized by the Fo Guang Shan Monastery, intended to promote the sport of basketball among universities and to provide student-athletes with the experience of competition in large-scale tournaments.

Greg Kamansky

Kamansky said one out of every four years, college teams are permitted to play in a preseason event overseas. When that happens, , the NCAA gives the school an exemption to start practicing earlier than the fall start date in October.

The Broncos will be allowed 10 practice days, the first of which will be Aug. 1.

This will be the second venture overseas for Kamansky, who traveled to Greece in May to present in a coaches clinic and share his knowledge of the sport with other coaches from across the globe. It was a week or so after that he got the invitation for his team to Taiwan.

“I had never been overseas, and it was a great experience,” he said. “I came back thinking if I ever had a chance to take a team, I would love to do that and then this came along. It was great timing.”

Kamansky did his homework before accepting the invitation. He checked to see which teams had participated in the event before and one was the Chapman University women’s team, which traveled abroad last year. He contacted coach Carol Jue, who had positive things to say about the experience.

A branch of the monastery in Hacienda Heights is sponsoring the trip, and it is the one that selected the Broncos to participate. Kamansky and his coaching staff visited there to get more information.

He also talked it over with his players who were receptive to the idea.

Cal Poly Pomona will challenge two teams from Taiwan — Chien Hsin and Ming Dao universities — and a squad from China, Huaqiao University.

The event will give the Broncos an early start, which they probably need. Kamansky has just one senior and one junior on his team.

Cal Poly Pomona is coming off a season in which it went 22-8 overall and 14-6 in California Collegiate Athletic Association play. They’ll be staying at a monastery in Taiwan
“I really don’t know much about the style of play or the caliber of those teams,” he said. “I just heard they’re all really big so we better be ready.”

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Cal Poly Pomona alum Cody Ponce gets minor league honor

Former Cal Poly Pomona pitcher Cody Ponce got a late start to the season due to some “forearm fatigue.” But Ponce, also a product of Damien High School, has rebounded quite nicely and is having a stellar season.

Ponce, the Brewers’ No. 8 prospect, tossed a pair of scoreless outings last week, lasting 11 innings in total, while striking out 17 and walking none for Class A Advanced Brevard County to capture the Florida State League Pitcher of the Week award.

The award is Ponce’s first as a pro since he was taken in the second round of the 2015 Draft out of Cal Poly Pomona.

“I think it came down to whatever was working that day,” Ponce said. “But really in that sense, it was all [catcher Dustin Houle]. I don’t think I shook him maybe more than once or twice. He was just great behind the dish for two great games. I have to give it up to him. And then I had some great guys behind me making all the plays. I couldn’t have done this without them.”

Ponce’s first gem of the week came last Monday when he fanned five batters and allowed only two hits over five scoreless innings against Dunedin in what had been his longest start of the season up to that point. He one-upped himself five days later by lasting six frames, while fanning a career-high 12 and scattering only three hits. His 17 strikeouts were tied for third-most in the minors for the week of July 4-10 and were more than his dozen strikeouts over his five starts (14 innings) combined.

As impressive as the strikeout numbers were last week, the 6-foot-6 right-hander was happier with his zero in the walks column.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email