Local talent contribute to Division 1 programs as freshman early


Zoe CasasAquinas graduate Zoe Casas played in a doubleheader for the Florida State softball team on Saturday against North Carolina.

In Game 1, Casas hit a 2-run home run, the first of her college career, for the Seminoles in the 9-6 victory over the Tar Heels.

While the freshman did not record a hit in Game 2, she did score a run in the winning effort over the Tar Heels.

Tannon SnowTannon Snow, a graduate of Chino Hills High School, went 1 for 2 with a run for the University of Washington softball team in its 10-8 loss to UCLA.

Snow went 1 for 3 for two runs and a 3-run home run in the sixth inning against the Bruins on March 24. It was her third home run of the season. The Chino Hills grad would go 0 for 3 on March 25 in the second of the three game series.



Freshman left handed pitcher Kyle Robeniol did not get the win Saturday in Oregon’s 7-4 loss to PAC-12 rival Washington but he was not the scheduled starter either.

Kyle RobeniolIn what was his second collegiate start on the mound, the Ducks’ pitcher had a quick turn around from his first start on Tuesday against Seattle University.

The Los Osos alumnus filled in for scheduled starter David Peterson after he was unable to pitch due to an illness.

Robeniol pitched 4 1/3 innings against the Huskies, giving up three runs on four hits while striking out three.

Against Seattle, the freshman pitched 3 innings, again allowing three runs on four hits.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Damien grad Thaddeus Smith of CS Fullerton honored

Freshman Thaddeus Smith of Cal State Fullerton earned his second Big West Athlete of the Week honor of the season after breaking two school records at the USC Trojan Invitational this past weekend.

The Damien High School graduate set a new school record in the 200m dash with his performance of 20.92, placing him in second place at the USC Trojan Invitational. His time also leads the Big West in the 200m while also ranking fifth in the NCAA.

Smith also ran the third leg in the 4x400m relay that also set a new Titan record, running a 0:46.9 to total the 3:09.67 new school record. The previous school record in the 4x400m relay broke the 14-year old record of 3:10.46 set back in 2002.

This is the second honor that the freshman has earned as he was named the Big West Athlete of the Week in week 1.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Cal State San Bernardino’s Tyler Wells earns CCAA honor

Tyler Wells

Cal State San Bernardino junior right-hander Tyler Wells has been named CCAA Pitcher of the Week.

Wells, a Yucaipa High School graduate, helped the Coyotes to a 4-0 win in Saturday’s series opener against Cal State Stanislaus.

He allowed just one hit, one walk, and struck out seven Warrior batters in his first nine-inning complete game performance of the year. Wells needed just 111 pitches to get the job done and after surrendering a single in the second inning he retired the next 20 batters. The only walk of the game was in the ninth inning.

He is now 2-2 with a 1.28 ERA in eight starts with 56 strikeouts in 49 innings.

It was the second time he has earned the weekly honor.

Junior outfielder Jack Larsen of UC San Diego was the Player of the Week.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email