Cal Poly Pomona men’s soccer team ranked fourth nationally

Final Men's SOccer

The Cal Poly Pomona men’s soccer team had a storybook season last year in finishing as national runner-up. Well a lot will be expected this year too as the Broncos start the new season ranked fourth in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) NCAA Division II poll.

The Broncos tied the school records last season with 17 wins for the second-consecutive season and later secured their NCAA Postseason victory with a 1-0 victory over Cal State Los Angeles. They also went on to win the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Tournament and the West Region title.

In the national semifinal the Broncos topped No. 5 Rockhurst 1-0, then fell in the National Championship game to Pfeiffer.

Cal Poly graduated eight players but a strong returning group is led by  Eshel Chardon, Mathew Perez, Sergi Monso and Nadeer Ghantous.

The Broncos open the new season on Sept. 1 with a 4:30 p.m. home game against Montana State-Billings.

Here is the link to the entire national poll.


Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Redlands men’s soccer team earns preseason national ranking

Bulldog Men's Soccer Earns Trio of NSCAA All-West Region Honors

The University of Redlands men’s soccer team will start the season ranked No. 21 in NCAA Division III by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America’s (NSCAA).

Such rankings are usually based heavily on a team’s showing the previous year. Last year the Bulldogs won both the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) regular-season championship and the SCIAC Postseason Tournament title and finished 17-4-2 overall.

The Bulldogs return four first-team All-SCIAC honorees – junior defender Keoni Yates,  junior forward Chase Boone, junior midfielder Casey Chubb-Fertal and sophomore Kayvon Parsa, who was also named the SCIAC Newcomer of the Year.

Redlands opens new season with an exhibition game in Carson against Division II Cal State Dominguez Hills at 7 p.m. on Aug.25.

The Bulldogs then face Fontbonne University (Mo.) on Sunday, Sept. 4 in the first home contest of the season.


Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Cal Poly Pomona basketball team headed to Taiwan

Quentin Taylor

The Cal Poly Pomona men’s basketball team won’t be waiting until October to crank it up for the coming season like normal.

The Broncos are going to have to be prepared much earlier as they have been selected to play in an international event in Taiwan next month.

The squad, coached by Greg Kamansky, will be taking part in a goodwill event called the Buddha Light International Association Cup tournament, to be held Aug. 16-21.

“It will be a great experience for our players, not just from a basketball standpoint but a cultural standpoint as well,” Kamansky said. “This isn’t something you get to do often so we are grateful for the opportunity.”


The tournament will feature eight men’s teams and eight women’s teams, with representation from the USA, France, Canada, Japan, Malaysia, Korea, the Philippines, and People’s Republic of China. Cal Poly Pomona will play at least four games at the Kaohsiung Arena in Taiwan.

The BLIA Cup is a sport cultural exchange organized by the Fo Guang Shan Monastery, intended to promote the sport of basketball among universities and to provide student-athletes with the experience of competition in large-scale tournaments.

Greg Kamansky

Kamansky said one out of every four years, college teams are permitted to play in a preseason event overseas. When that happens, , the NCAA gives the school an exemption to start practicing earlier than the fall start date in October.

The Broncos will be allowed 10 practice days, the first of which will be Aug. 1.

This will be the second venture overseas for Kamansky, who traveled to Greece in May to present in a coaches clinic and share his knowledge of the sport with other coaches from across the globe. It was a week or so after that he got the invitation for his team to Taiwan.

“I had never been overseas, and it was a great experience,” he said. “I came back thinking if I ever had a chance to take a team, I would love to do that and then this came along. It was great timing.”

Kamansky did his homework before accepting the invitation. He checked to see which teams had participated in the event before and one was the Chapman University women’s team, which traveled abroad last year. He contacted coach Carol Jue, who had positive things to say about the experience.

A branch of the monastery in Hacienda Heights is sponsoring the trip, and it is the one that selected the Broncos to participate. Kamansky and his coaching staff visited there to get more information.

He also talked it over with his players who were receptive to the idea.

Cal Poly Pomona will challenge two teams from Taiwan — Chien Hsin and Ming Dao universities — and a squad from China, Huaqiao University.

The event will give the Broncos an early start, which they probably need. Kamansky has just one senior and one junior on his team.

Cal Poly Pomona is coming off a season in which it went 22-8 overall and 14-6 in California Collegiate Athletic Association play. They’ll be staying at a monastery in Taiwan
“I really don’t know much about the style of play or the caliber of those teams,” he said. “I just heard they’re all really big so we better be ready.”

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email