Woods will play this weekend; was assessed two-stroke penalty

Major controversy in Augusta ends with Tiger Woods receiving a two-stroke penalty for an illegal drop. He was NOT disqualified. Either way, the decision was controversial. New rule Augusta officials used from 2012 is that if a player breaks a rule and isn’t aware and signs a scorecard and later this is called in, he is assessed a two-stroke penalty. Woods was 3-under but now is 5-under, five shots behind leader Jason Day.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Jill Painter. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jill Painter

Jill Painter is a sports columnist for the Los Angeles News Group, covering everything from the Dodgers, Lakers, Clippers, USC, UCLA, Kings, golf and all human interest stories in sports.