Statement on Tiger Woods penalty and no DQ

Statement from Augusta officials:
“Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods on the 15th hole.
In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Commitee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.
After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played further from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.
The subsequent information provided by the player’s interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Commitee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player’s round.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

Woods will play this weekend; was assessed two-stroke penalty

Major controversy in Augusta ends with Tiger Woods receiving a two-stroke penalty for an illegal drop. He was NOT disqualified. Either way, the decision was controversial. New rule Augusta officials used from 2012 is that if a player breaks a rule and isn’t aware and signs a scorecard and later this is called in, he is assessed a two-stroke penalty. Woods was 3-under but now is 5-under, five shots behind leader Jason Day.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

Tiger in major controversy at Masters and could get DQ’d

Augusta officials are meeting right now to determine whether or not Tiger Woods made an illegal drop on the 15th hole yesterday. Remember, Woods’ shot hit the flagstick, then into the water in a diagonal line. Woods had three options under Rule 26-1, and he chose the third option … which is to return to the original spot and drop “as nearly as possible” from the spot where he played his previous spot.

Trouble is, he played two yards off the previous spot, in his words.
In a television interview after his round, Woods said: “I went down to the drop area, that wasn’t going to be a good spot, because obviously it’s into the grain, it’s really grainy there. And it was a little bit wet. So it was muddy and not a good spot to drop.

“So I went back to where I played it from, but I went 2 yards further back and I took, tried to take 2 yards off the shot of what I felt I hit. And that should land me short of the flag and not have it either hit the flag or skip over the back. I felt that that was going to be the right decision to take off four right there. And I did. It worked out perfectly.”

Clearly, this can be interpreted subjectively, and officials might be huddled over this one for a while.
Yesterday, it was the controversy over teenager Guan, who was assessed a slow play penalty. And we thought that was big.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

Controversy brewing at the Masters

And it surrounds 14-year-old amateur Tianlang Guan.
He was assessed a slow-play penalty on the 17th hole, and he could miss the cut because of it. Stay tuned.
Guan waited more than 90 minutes to address the media afterward, but he said: “I respect the decision they made.”
The top-50 and ties and those within 10 shots of the leader make the cut. He’s tied for 56 at 4-over, so he’s right on the money and would make the cut right now with Marc Leishman leading at 6-under with 18 holes to play.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

Rain, rain go away

It’s raining at the Masters. Umbrellas are out and golf is still on. The rain was supposed to start yesterday, and even though there was a bit of rain overnight, rain didn’t start until about 11amish this morning.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

What Sergio needs to do…

To win the Masters…
Here’s my column!
JILL PAINTER ON GOLF: Sergio Garcia must Master his emotions
By Jill Painter, Columnist
Posted: 04/11/2013 11:51:41 PM PDT
Updated: 04/11/2013 11:55:16 PM PDT

AUGUSTA, Ga. – Sergio Garcia needs to channel his inner teenager, the one who famously skipped down the fairway at Medinah Country Club all those years ago, in order to win the Masters.

Sadly, he won’t let himself get that geeked up over a golf tournament anymore.

At 33, Garcia is so far removed from that joyous place of unbridled enthusiasm and never-ending smiles he seems like a different person.

He’s older and wiser and more serious and even a bit defensive when talking about Augusta National. He just hasn’t played well here. He and Augusta aren’t exactly BFF’s. Augusta hasn’t treated him well, and he has no problem admitting this isn’t his favorite place.

Last year, he admitted he couldn’t win here.

And there’s that dubious distinction he’s still never won a major. Anywhere.

Garcia is a surprising Masters co-leader after firing an impressive first-round 6-under 66 – tied for his career best here – on Thursday. He had six birdies and no bogeys for the first time around here in 11 years.

He was asked about his lower expectations and responded: “Lower expectation, maybe that’s what you say. Every time I tee off in a tournament, my goal is to play the best I can and have a chance at winning.

“It doesn’t change this week.”

The last time Garcia shot 66 was in the final round in 2004, but he wasn’t in contention then.

He’s in contention now and will be battling the demons that have plagued him in his 15 appearances

——————————————————————————–

Advertisement

——————————————————————————–
here. Garcia has just two top-10 finishes (fourth place in 2004 was his best) and has missed the cut four times.

Would the old Garcia, who finished second to Tiger Woods at the PGA Championship at Medinah in 1999, please stand up?

“I’m not saying I wasn’t realistic when I was 19,” Garcia said. “But obviously as you get older, you mature a little bit more.

“I’m sure it happened to you, too.”

After Garcia was done with his news conference, he ran into Dustin Johnson and the two friends shared a laugh. It was like looking in a mirror, except for the height differential.

Both are sponsored by Taylor Made, and both were wearing the same green shirts and black pants. Their outfits are pre-scripted by the company. If we could pre-script Garcia’s game plan for the next three rounds, they would include hopping and air kicks, no matter the results.

Johnson remembers those circumstances.

“One of the shots I remember is maybe the PGA where he hit from behind the tree,” Johnson said. “That’s one that sticks out in my head.”

Garcia pulled off a great shot, and couldn’t hide his pleasure in doing so. That’s everyone’s early memory of Garcia, and then there are his surly comments and attitude over the year that got worse when he became known as the best player to never win a major.

Last year, he shockingly told Spanish reporters at the Masters: “I’m not good enough … I don’t have the thing I need to have. In 13 years, I’ve come to the conclusion that I need to play for second or third place.”

Those words haunt him now, especially from where his name is perched atop the leaderboard.

“Those were my words,” Garcia said. “But no, I think that at the end of the day, we go through those moments, tough moments and frustrated moments and I know that was one of them.

“I obviously didn’t say it the right way because it was one of those frustrating moments.”

He said it in his native tongue. It was honest. That’s how he felt. He’d been beaten up here so many times, it’s just tough he said it out loud for the world to hear. Now, in his own words, he’s played some of his best golf here ever and must convince himself he has the stuff to play three more rounds in similar fashion.

“What I’m going to try to take to the pillow (at night) is the first 10 holes,” Garcia said. “I think it’s, without a doubt, the best 10 holes I’ve played at the Masters.

“Even though scoring-wise maybe it wasn’t, but the way I hit the ball and amount of birdie chances I gave myself, it meant a lot.”

And now, he must eat those words and pretend he had his fingers crossed behind his back.

He has to remember he can play for first. The kid in him never would doubt that.

We still remember that lovable Garcia, but he has long forgotten.

Maybe when he’s thinking about those 10 holes in his dreams, he’ll remember that joy he had for the game.

It would serve him well at the Masters.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

Good morning from Augusta!

While you were sleeping, Sergio Garcia started his meltdown. He bogeyed the third and fourth holes to fall to a tie for second, and that’s probably the last we’ll see of Garcia, who’s never won a major but was co-leader. It was good while it lasted.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

Huh’s first tee shot…

finds the fairway. That’s a good omen for the 22-year-old who’s playing in the Masters for the first time. The first tee shot at Augusta can be nerve-racking, but he was safely in the fairway. Huh has the good fortune of playing early enough where he could miss the expected afternoon rain.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email