Adam Scott drilled a 15-foot putt on the 10th hole, the second playoff hole, to win the Masters. First time an Australian golfer has won the Masters.
Jill Painter on the Masters: John Huh, Crescenta Valley graduate, has fantastic tournament in first Masters
By Jill Painter, Columnist
AUGUSTA, Ga – John Huh did so well in his first Masters appearance that he should automatically qualify to play at Augusta next year as well.
Huh, a Crescenta Valley High graduate, shot a 4-under 68 Sunday and is tied for 10th at 2-under 286 for the tournament, with players still on the course. If he remains in the top 12, he’ll qualify to play next year as well.
“That was my goal before I teed it up today, to try to come back if I could,” Huh said. “And then see what the outcome was.”
The outcome was fantastic for the 22-year-old Huh, who played in his first Masters.
Huh played the course for the first time in a practice round on Monday and his worst round was a 5-over 77 in Friday’s second round. After that round, he switched to a Scotty Cameron putter and shot a 1-under 71 in Saturday’s third round and made a nice run on Sunday.
At the 15th hole, Huh made an eagle with a 15-foot putt from the fringe.
“I had a really awkward lie, but I pulled the trigger on it,” Huh said.
Huh, who was last year’s PGA Tour rookie of the year, was excited about the hardware that comes with the eagle.
“I can get a crystal for the eagle,” Huh said with a smile. “I heard about it from K.J. (Choi) when I had a practice round with him. I actually had two chances, one on 13, too. I’ll take one though.”
Asked to choose a cool moment of the week, Huh pointed to his hole-in-one on No. 16 in a practice round Monday with Choi, Kevin Na and Y.E. Yang. Choi had fun with Huh, and
when the two got to the green, Choi took the ball out of the cup and pretended it was his.
“It was funny,” Huh said. “I knew what he was doing, but most people thought he made it. I enjoyed that, and I enjoyed playing with him.”
Huh will take two weeks off and let his masterful outing in the Masters sink in for a while.
“It was a really good experience playing this golf course,” Huh said. “I was striking the ball really good all tournament. If I was able to put the ball in early, if I had done good Friday, I would’ve been in better position.”
He finished well, and for a first-timer, that wasn’t bad at all.
Who do you have to win the Masters? I’ve got Angel Cabrera, whose already won two majors, including here at Augusta in 2009.
There’s just something about the Argentenian and the Masters. He’s fallen to No. 269 in the world rankings, but he rises to the occasion in majors.
The man nicknamed El Pato is co-leader after 54 holes. He’ll have to hold off Brandt Snedeker, three Australians and possibly Tiger Woods to win it.
Brandt Snedeker and Angel Cabrera are tied for the lead in the Masters at 7-under. Adam Scott is one shot back in third at 6-under and Jason Day and Marc Leishman are at 5-under. Day bogeyed the last two holes to fall from a share of the lead. Tiger Woods is in the mix as well, four shots behind the co-leaders after he shot a 2-under 70.
Was out at the first tee when Tiger Woods started his round this afternoon, and he was applauded when he walked out to the tee, and he was applauded after his first tee shot as well. He was wearing a blue shirt and smiled as he shook hands with officials there. One man yelled – “moving day” – as though the major controversy in the morning had never happened.
Statement from Augusta officials:
“Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods on the 15th hole.
In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Commitee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.
After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played further from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.
The subsequent information provided by the player’s interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Commitee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player’s round.
Major controversy in Augusta ends with Tiger Woods receiving a two-stroke penalty for an illegal drop. He was NOT disqualified. Either way, the decision was controversial. New rule Augusta officials used from 2012 is that if a player breaks a rule and isn’t aware and signs a scorecard and later this is called in, he is assessed a two-stroke penalty. Woods was 3-under but now is 5-under, five shots behind leader Jason Day.
Augusta officials are meeting right now to determine whether or not Tiger Woods made an illegal drop on the 15th hole yesterday. Remember, Woods’ shot hit the flagstick, then into the water in a diagonal line. Woods had three options under Rule 26-1, and he chose the third option … which is to return to the original spot and drop “as nearly as possible” from the spot where he played his previous spot.
Trouble is, he played two yards off the previous spot, in his words.
In a television interview after his round, Woods said: “I went down to the drop area, that wasn’t going to be a good spot, because obviously it’s into the grain, it’s really grainy there. And it was a little bit wet. So it was muddy and not a good spot to drop.
“So I went back to where I played it from, but I went 2 yards further back and I took, tried to take 2 yards off the shot of what I felt I hit. And that should land me short of the flag and not have it either hit the flag or skip over the back. I felt that that was going to be the right decision to take off four right there. And I did. It worked out perfectly.”
Clearly, this can be interpreted subjectively, and officials might be huddled over this one for a while.
Yesterday, it was the controversy over teenager Guan, who was assessed a slow play penalty. And we thought that was big.