CHICAGO – Not that it changes the outcome of the Lakers’ loss Sunday to the Toronto Raptors, but the NBA rescinded Dwight Howard’s second technical foul that ultimately resulted in his ejection.
“You can’t replay the game,” Howard said. “It’s over with.”
That’s true. But it at least reduces Howard’s technical foul total to five, meaning he’s now 11 away from receiving a league-mandated one-game suspension. The ruling also took away $3,000 Howard would have had to pay for receiving his sixth technical. He still will owe $2,000 for collecting his fifth.
Howard picked up his first technical with 4:43 left in the first quarter after appearing upset over a no-call over absorbing contact from Raptors center Aaron Gray during a reverse layup attempt. Howard was issued with another technical with 1:18 left in the second quarter after Toronto’s Alan Anderson locked up with him. Howard finished with only five points on 1 of 3 shooting and two rebounds in only 17 minutes in the Lakers’ 108-103 loss Sunday to the Raptors.
“I think we get to play the second half over,” joked Lakers coach Mike D’Antoni.” I think that comes with it. It’s one of those things where I think [the officials] forgot he already had one. Then they whistled back and said to settle this down. It happens sometimes.”
Follow L.A. Daily News Lakers beat writer Mark Medina on Twitter. E-mail him at firstname.lastname@example.org