NBA won’t penalize Dahntay Jones for Kobe Bryant injury

Although the NBA believes Kobe Bryant should’ve been awarded two free throws after landing on the foot of Dahntay Jones in the waning seconds of the Lakers’ 96-92 loss Wednesday to the Atlanta Hawks, Jones won’t face any league-imposed penalties for the play.

No retroactive active flagrant fouls. No fines. No suspensions.

Instead, the NBA just offered a statement conceding the missed foul call.

“After review at the league office, video replay confirmed that referees missed a foul call on Jones as he challenged Bryant’s shot and did not give him the opportunity to land cleanly back on the floor,” the statement read. “Bryant should have been granted two free throws.”

Bryant suffered what the Lakers described as a severely sprained left ankle that will keep him sidelined indefinitely. According to his Twitter account, Bryant has went through endless treatment Thursday including compression and icing. He then said he planned to watch the movies “Django,” “Zero Dark Thirty” and “This is Forty” before taking an hour-long nap.


Dahntay Jones contends he wasn’t trying to hurt Kobe Bryant

Jalen Rose, Bruce Bowen weigh in on Kobe Bryant-Dahntay Jones play

Earl Clark sprains right ankle, but believes he will play against Indiana

Follow L.A. Daily News Lakers beat writer Mark Medina on Twitter. E-mail him at

Share this post ...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterBuffer this pageShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrShare on RedditEmail this to someonePrint this page