Etiwanda’s McKynzie Fort changes mind, headed to San Diego State

Etiwanda High School basketball standout McKynzie Fort signed with the University of Oregon during the early signing period last fall. But the talented guard was granted a release from that school and is now headed to San Diego State.

Fort, the Inland Valley Player of the Year, said the decision came down to family. She has had several deaths in the family in the last two years and hasn’t had the time to come to terms with so many losses and thought a school closer to home was in her best interest.

She said the decision had nothing to do with the coaching staff or players at Oregon.

“After really thinking about it, I didn’t think that was the best fit for me,” Fort said. “I talked about it a lot with my family and this was the best decision.”

Fort said she had been to San Diego State on an unofficial visit before she signed with Oregon but it had a previous coach and staff in place. She talked to a handful of schools after getting her release and Etiwanda coach Anders Anderson dealt with a handful of others.

Fort was also the Most Valuable Player of the Baseline League.  She shot 54 percent from the field and averaged a team-high 15.6 points, 4.3 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 2,.3 steals despite playing a gauntlet of tough nonleague and postseason foes.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Etiwanda dominates Baseline League Girls Basketball selections

MVP – McKynzie Fort, Sr., Etiwanda

First team
Alexis Alexander, Rancho Cucamonga
Alyssa Anderson, Etiwanda
Cherice Harris, Etiwanda
Alex Lindsey, Rancho Cucamonga
Amy Okonkwo, Etiwanda
Camille Parker, Alta Loma
Daeja Smith, Etiwanda
Irie Stokes, Upland

Second team
Paven Argyle, Glendora
Niah Curry, Los Osos
Olivia Habern, Glendora
Kyla Martin, Etiwanda
Kiana Mathews, Rancho Cucamonga
Sharon Ramirez, Los Osos
Amari Terry, Alta Loma
Olivia Watkins, Upland

Honorable mention – Sky Artega, Glendora; Megan Butterweck, Los Osos; Chariya Chilson, Upland; Alisa Davis, Los Osos; Megan Jeske, Alta Loma; Dominique McLaughlin, Etiwanda; Mazelle Millina, Etiwanda; Sheldyn Odom, Alta Loma; Kelly Sera, Glendora; Lakenya Ysaguirre, Upland.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email