David Albers and Webb find success at Ayala Water Polo Tournament

David Albers and the Webb Schools dominated the Ayala Tournament with two victories on Thursday.

Albers scored nine goals for the Gauls in the victory over Temecula Chaparral, 22-10.

Travis Alvarado scored seven goals against the Pumas while Mitchel Fargo contributed with four of his own.

At the net, goalkeeper Max Sapozhkov had 11 saves. He also had seven saves in Webb’s second game of the day, which resulted in a 18-2 win over Nogales.

Albers, Stephen Silides and Andre Ardelan each had three goals against the Nobles. Philip Kraus led the Gauls with four goals.
Webb will play in the quarterfinals against Charter Oak today at 6 p.m.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Top water polo players named

Embedded image permalink

All-CIF honors are out in boys water polo. Not surprisingly, Los Osos leads the way with four players honored.

Leading that quartet is senior Jared Strong who was named the Division 4 Player of the Year. He led the Grizzlies to a second straight CIF title.

Also making the list from Los Osos are senior Austin Stewart, senior Ben Andres and junior Thomas Halverson.

Also making the Division 4 team is Cole Carlson of Redlands East Valley.

In Division 5 Spencer Hosch of Webb was the lone local honored.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email