Upland’s Alex Campos chooses Hope

Upland High School volleyball standout Alex Campos has chosen to attend NAIA Hope International University. She played for the Highlanders for three years after transferring from Los Osos after her freshman year.

Campos, a 5-foot-5 setter, was also considering Lourdes (Ohio) and Notre Dame de Namur in the Bay area.

“It’s close to home and the volleyball program is pretty good,” she said of the decision.

Campos, a first-team All-Baseline League selection, plans to major in psychology.


Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Chaffey’s James Oxier earns second All-CIF honor

The All-CIF girls water polo and soccer teams were released earlier this week and several local players were singled out.

Among those was Chaffey senior James Oxier who helped the Tigers to spot in the CIF Southern Section Divisions 3 title game.
Oxier was also an All-CIF selection in the fall for football.

It may not be unusual for an athlete to earn All-CIF honors in two sports but oftentimes when that happens its usually an athlete honored in hybrid sports such as cross country and track or water polo and swimming.

Oxier was Chaffey’s second leading scorer in soccer. In football he rushed for 912 yards and four touchdowns on 145 carries. He also played defense and registered 107 tackles.

Here is a story we ran on him earlier this spring.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Mt. Baldy League honors: Girls basketball

Chidube Okoro of Colony in a game earlier this season

MVPs: Raven Kratzer, Sr., Colony; Amari Terry, Sr., Alta Loma

First team
Joana Aguilar, Sr., Ontario
Joycin Arrington, Sr., Montclair
Aries Cowser, Jr., Colony
Naily Crawford, Soph., Ontario
Ashley Hill, Soph., Alta Loma
Tatyana Jackson, Sr., Colony
Teaira Jordon, Soph., Alta Loma
Chidube Okoro, Sr., Colony
Heather Ortuno, Sr., Alta Loma
Camille Parker, Soph., Alta Loma
Elyanna Rios, Sr., Chaffey
Destinee Williams, Jr., Colony

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Mt. Baldy League honors: Boys soccer

MVP: Eduardo Contreras, Jr., Chaffey

First team
Alfredo Alcala, Sr., Ontario
Alejando Carrillo, Sr., Ontario
Kobe Contreras, Jr., Alta Loma
Hugh Estrada, Jr., Chaffey
Miguel Flores, Jr., Chaffey
Colin Gunby, Sr,. Alta Loma
Carlos Leon, Montclair
Steven Loera, Sr., Alta Loma
Axl Mendoza, Sr., Colony
Omar Mendoza, Sr., Chaffey
Juan Nunez, Sr., Colony
James Oxier, Sr., Chaffey
Jose Soto, Sr., Ontario
Matt Tillman, Sr., Alta Loma
Emilio Vasquez, Sr., Don Lugo

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Mt. Baldy League honors: Girls soccer

MVPs: Dae Lockett, Jr., Colony; Denae Verdine, Sr., Alta Loma

First team
Giselle Alvarado, Jr., Chaffey
Jazmyn Aries, Soph., Montclair
Aspyn Audibert, Sr., Alta Loma
Kimberly Benner, Jr., Don Lugo
Jessica Esquivel, Soph., Colony
Karls Garci-Limon, Sr., Montclair
Joanna Gavilanes, Montclair
Rebecca Gonzalez, Jr., Colony
Brooke Kortekas, Jr., Alta Loma
Rose Martinez, Soph., Montclair
Samantha Nieves, Soph., Ontario
Leah Pruitt, Sr., Alta Loma
Elizabeth Rivera, Soph., Colony
Malynda Tillman, Sr., Alta Loma
Natalie Valdez, Jr., Don Lugo
Kimberly Vargas, Jr., Chaffey

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Mt. Baldy League honors: Girls water polo

MVPs: Emily Goins, Sr., Colony; Yesenia Preciado, Fr., Ontario; Lexy Poveda, Sr., Alta Loma

First team
Leanne Butler, Sr., Alta Loma
Liz Celestino, Sr., Don Lugo
Jewell Doerr, Jr., Colony
Destiny Duran, Sr., Chaffey
Sabrina Fregoso, Sr., Don Lugo
Samantha Hernandez, Jr., Colony
Merecedes Lopez, Sr., Colony
Raeann Lopez, Sr., Alta Loma
Sarah Martinez, Soph., Don Lugo
McKenna Owens, Sr., Alta Loma
Nallely Romero, Soph., Montclair
Sydney Smith, Sr., Alta Loma
Emalie Torrez, Jr., Ontario

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Ambassador League honors: Boys basketball

Player of Year: Hezekiah Banks, Jr., Woodcrest Christian
Coach of Year: Scott Morrison, Woodcrest Christian
Sportsmanship Award: Loma Linda

First team
Hezekiah Banks, Jr., Woodcrest Christian
Lorenzo Burns, Jr., Linfield Christian
Kaleb Denmark, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Tyus Dennis, Sr., Ontario Christian
Alec Frank, Sr., Woodcrest Christian
Raymond Gonzaelz, Jr., Aquinas
Ernest Gustafson, Sr., Ontario Christian
Elijah Hill, Sr., Loma Linda Academy
Jonathan Im, Sr., Loma Linda Academy
Masol Robbins, Fr., Notre Dame
Hayden Semple, Sr., Woodcrest Christian
Jarid Taylor, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Alec White, Soph., Linfield Christian
Alex Wright, Soph., Woodcrest Christian

Second team
Jacob Aleman, Sr., Ontario Christian
Jacob Butchkom Jr., Notre Dame
Jared Christenson, Sr., Woodcrest Christian
Jay Crikshank, Sr., Aquinas
Marcus Felder, Soph., Aquinas
Thomas Hayward, Sr., Woodcrest Chrsitian
Kevin Leeper, Sr., Loma Linda Academy
Richard Ong, Sr., Loma Linda Acdademy
Bradley Mowbray, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Miles Wilson, Sr., Linfield Christian

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Ambassador League honors: Girls basketball

Player of Year: Lindsey Ybarra, Sr., Aquinas
Coach of Year: Lucio Camacho, Loma Linda Academy
Sportsmanship Awards: Loma Linda/Woodcrest Christian

First team
Megan Burt, Soph., Aquinas
Maci Chen, Jr., Loma Linda Academy
Michaella Elad, Jr., Aquinas
Cece Ewing, Jr., Loma Linda Academy
Meghan Hamel, Sr., Linfield Christian
Megan Kunzi, Sr., Ontario Christian
Brianna Mendoza, Jr., Notre Dame
Giovanna Mendoza, Jr., Notre Dame
Jasmine Peete, Fr., Notre Dame
Eryn Pongs, Sr., Woodcrest Christian
McKenna Prater, Jr., Woodcrest Christian
Jenna Preston, Jr., Aquinas
Hannah Thalmayer, Soph., Arrowhead Christian
Lindsey Ybarra, Sr., Aquinas

Second team
Victoria Beehler, Sr., Notre Dame
Noelle Cardiel, Jr., Western Christian
Jaylin Evancik, Sr., Linfield Christian
Amalia Goulbourne, Jr., Loma Linda Academy
Marisa Makamereh, Sr., Aquinas
Amanda McGuire, Sr., Ontario Christian
Roxy Standsberry, Jr., Arrowhead Christian
Nikki Villarosa, Sr., Woodcrest Christian
Camille Ybanez, Sr., Notre Dame
Madison Ybarra, Fr., Aquinas

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Ambassador League honors: Boys soccer

Offensive MVP: Garrett Collins, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Defensive MVP: Michael Foster, Soph., Linfield Christian
Coach of Year: Greg Treur, Arrowhead Christian
Sportsmanship Award: Riverside Notre Dame

First team
Dylan Attridge, Soph., Western Christian
Koby Bench, Sr., Loma Linda Academy
Koby Catano, Jr., Ontario Christian
Garrett Collins, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Kursten De La O, Sr., Woodcrest Christian
Marcelo Desia, Soph., Loma Linda Acadcemy
Mitchel Foster, Soph., Linfield Christian
Dylan Gallardo, Sr., Linfield Christian
Tanner Jorritsma, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Spencer Quinto, Jr., Arrowhead Christian
Brant Page, Sr., Aquinas
Garrett Perry, Soph., Woodcrest Christian
Christian Reyes, Sr., Ontario Christian
Brian Robinson, Jr., Ontario Christian
Robert Santoro, Jr., Linfield Christian
Spencer Thalmayer, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Bryan Zarate, Sr., Ontario Christian

Second team
Kevin Alban, Sr., Aquinas
Jon Andrew Auger-Andres, Sr., Linfield Christian
Michael Brown, Jr., Linfield Christian
Skylar Cummings, Jr., Arrowhead Christian
Jack DeFrank, Sr., Woodcrest Christian
Jakob Eichor, Jr., Ontario Christian
David Hernandez, Sr., Western Christian
Brennan Kiledjian, Sr., Ontario Christian
Mitchell Maberry, Jr., Woodcrest Christian
Rogelio Mendoza, Jr., Aquinas
Jorge Negrete, Jr., Notre Dame
Lane Pledger, Soph., Linfield Christian
Nick Putrasahan, Sr., Loma Linda Academy
Mark Ter Best, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Jacob Vanden Bosch, Sr., Ontario Christian
Ben Wright, Sr., Woodcrest Christian

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email