Who should be Star-News coach of the Year

Now that we’ve finished the regular season, it’s a good time to look at our All-Area awards. Today, I thought we would look at the Coach of the Year candidates. By no means is the race over, we still have the playoffs, which unlike major league baseball, I give a lot of credence to the postseason. Look at it as the final exam.

Here’s the list:

Russell Gordon, La Salle — Definitely the leader going into the playoffs. His numbers speak for themselves. Gordon, who previously coached at Campbell Hall, has transformed a program that was 1-19 the previous two seasons to a perfect 10-0 and Del Rey League champs. They enter the Northwest playoffs as the No. 3 seed.
John Hardy, Muir — The Mustangs have recovered from a disastrous start to win its last seven games and win the Pacific League title. Muir is the No. 3 seed and a good bet to get to the Southeast semifinals.
Ryan Maddox, Monrovia — Maddox can be viewed as the Pat Riley of area football — a very good coach who leads the best team. The Wildcats, who had impressive win over St. Francis in September, cruised to the Rio Hondo League title. Monrovia is trying to become the first area team to win three consecutive CIF-SS titles since Temple City pulled the trick in the 1970s.
Ken Drain, Rio Hondo Prep — The Kares, the area’s top small school in the area, went undefeated in the Prep League the No. 2 seed in the Northeast. They also have impressive victories over Arcadia and Big Bear. Their only was to Notheast No. 1 Mission Prep.
Mike Hobbie, San Marino — The Titans are 9-1, with the only loss being a 21-16 setback to area No. 1 Monrovia.
Harold Sanin, Gabrielino — The Eagles didn’t make the playoffs, but finished with a solid 7-3 record. Gabrielino is only one of six area teams to win at least seven games.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email
  • prep league fan

    What about Antonio Harrison from Flintridge Prep? He has led Flintridge to a winning record a year after winning only one game and having several forfeits due to lack of numbers and injuries. Seems like an obvious candidate. Dont know how you leave him out?

  • high school sports fan

    San Marino and La Salle are the biggest surprises this year for sure. Whichever coach actually improved the team by making the boys that were already at the school better should win. If they just brought in players from other schools and that is why they are better, then that is not really coaching.

  • SGV Football Fan

    If McFarland at TC can pull an upset over Paraclete, then he should get it no questions asked.
    He got my vote just for getting the Rams back to the playoffs, which no one expected after last years 1-9 season.