2015 Pasadena Star-News Preseason All-Area Football Team



QB — Carson Glazier, San Marino, Sr.

RB — Areg Nazarian, St. Francis, Sr.

RB — Lawrence Spicer, Monrovia, Sr.

WR — JP Shohfi, San Marino, Sr.

WR — Aubrey Mosley, Monrovia, Sr.

WR — Aiden Santino, San Marino, Sr.

ALL — Tyrek Adams, Pasadena, Sr.

OL — Charlie Weiss, La Canada, Sr.

OL — Cesar Gutierrez, Monrovia, Jr.

OL — Cade Mockary, St. Francis, Sr.

OL — Josh Milner, St. Francis, Sr.

OL — Anthony Hernandez, Muir, Sr.

PK — Patrick Crowley, San Marino, Sr.


DL — Sean Davitt, St. Francis, Sr.

DL — David Vardanian, La Canada, Jr.

DL — Ty’sean Brown, Monrovia, Sr.

LB — Anthony Marquez, Monrovia, Sr.

LB — Brent Kinsman, Maranatha, Sr.

LB — Joe Edwards, Pasadena Poly, Sr.

LB — Emari McQuelan, La Salle, Sr.

DB — Dmitri Mata, Maranatha, Jr.

DB — Andrew Sarceda, La Canada, Sr

DB — Tre Polamulu, St. Francis, Sr.

DB — Elijah Blades, Muir, Jr.

P — Jesus Renteria, Rosemead, Sr.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL PREVIEW: 20 years later, Bishop Amat still waiting on next CIF championship …



It started moments after the Bishop Amat High School football team’s heartbreaking one-point loss to Corona Centennial in last year’s CIF Southern Section Pac-5 semifinals.

Through the tears and frustration came a prevailing notion that next year would be different. Next year wouldn’t come up inches short. Next year Bishop Amat would be back on top.

The Lancers had just lost to eventual division champ Centennial, 38-37, in a game that ended with Amat being stopped inches shy of the goal line on a two-point conversion to win the game.

It was a loss that put the once-powerhouse program back on the radar in the CIF-SS’ highest division. It was also a loss that set the stage for legitimate championship expectations this season, which just so happens to be the 20th anniversary of Amat’s last CIF-SS championship in 1995.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

La Canada’s Collin Morikawa wins Trans-Miss tournament

Photo courtesy of Trans-Miss Golf Association

Recent La Canada High School graduate Collin Morikawa won the Trans-Mississippi amateur golf Championship, setting a competitive course record at Flint Hills National Golf Club in Andover, Kan.
Morikawa, who was selected the Pasadena Star-News player of the year last month and will play at Cal this spring, shot a 6-under-par 64 on the second day of the three-day event to win the 112th annual tournament by seven strokes with an 18-under-par 262.
Morikawa went into the final day of the tournament tied at 6-under-par 134 with soon-to-be college teammate K.K. Limbhasut of Thailand and with John Flaherty from Glastonbury, Conn. LSU-bound Philip Barbaree of Shreveport, La. finished second with Lambhasut third.
“I knew that I had some of the guys (with whom he was tied at the start) playing right behind me,” Morikawa told AmateurGolf.com after he won the tournament, “so having a good first 18 was really important to get ahead of everyone. Luckily, I did get a nice 6-under again.”

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email