Mayfield defeats La Salle in four tough games


PASADENA >> Mayfield Senior School’s volleyball team had to just regroup.

The Cubs managed to do it each time and it was enough for an intense four-game victory over La Salle on Wednesday night.

Although it was the season opener for both teams, the La Salle gym had more of a playoff atmosphere. It was loud. The play was intense.

See story:

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

San Gabriel volleyball takes aim at Poly crown

San Gabriel lost only one starter from last year and should do well when it opens with the 26th annual Pasadena Poly tournament on Saturday.
“This is kind of a good chance for us to see what we need to work on,” Matadors coach Larry Kanow said. “We should be OK.”
San Gabriel does not play in summer tournaments. The Matadors took third in the Poly tournament last year and also reached the CIF-SS 3A quarterfinals.

The story:

The draw:
Pool 1
1. Poly
2 Ramona Convent
3. Paraclete
4. Western Christian
Pool 2
1. San Marino
2. Flintridge Prep
3. San Gabriel
4. Beverly Hills
First match: 9 a.m.

Semifinals scheduled to start at 3 p.m.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

Flintridge Sacred Heart tops preseason volleyball poll

Here’s our SGVN poll
1. Flintridge Sacred Heat (26-7 in 2014)
2. La Salle (15-18)
3. La Serna (16-10)
4. St. Lucy’s (17-10)
5. Mayfield (20-8)
6. Bonita (13-12)
7. Glendora (21-7)
8. St. Paul (30-7)
9. Arcadia (26-6)
10. Whittier Christian (18-13)
Others to watch: Westridge (23-8), Gabrielino (25-3), San Gabriel (19-5), Gladstone (19-9), Diamond Ranch (17-6), Duarte (24-8), La Habra (22-9), San Dimas (21-5), South Pasadena (17-8), Monrovia (16-12).

Analyzing the selections:

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

Loryn Carter ready to lead St. Lucy’s


GLENDORA >> Moving around on the volleyball court is nothing new to Loryn Carter.

In her fourth year of starting for St. Lucy’s Priory High School, Carter will be playing her third position. Carter, who has verbally committed to play at UC Irvine next season, has switched hitting positions, going from opposite to outside hitter. She began her high school career as a middle blocker.

“As long as I am able to hit ball, then I am happy,” Carter said of the changes.

See full story:

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

La Canada’s Collin Morikawa wins Trans-Miss tournament

Photo courtesy of Trans-Miss Golf Association

Recent La Canada High School graduate Collin Morikawa won the Trans-Mississippi amateur golf Championship, setting a competitive course record at Flint Hills National Golf Club in Andover, Kan.
Morikawa, who was selected the Pasadena Star-News player of the year last month and will play at Cal this spring, shot a 6-under-par 64 on the second day of the three-day event to win the 112th annual tournament by seven strokes with an 18-under-par 262.
Morikawa went into the final day of the tournament tied at 6-under-par 134 with soon-to-be college teammate K.K. Limbhasut of Thailand and with John Flaherty from Glastonbury, Conn. LSU-bound Philip Barbaree of Shreveport, La. finished second with Lambhasut third.
“I knew that I had some of the guys (with whom he was tied at the start) playing right behind me,” Morikawa told after he won the tournament, “so having a good first 18 was really important to get ahead of everyone. Luckily, I did get a nice 6-under again.”

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email