Thursday Recap: Dylan Hanel went 2 for 3 with four RBIs and a triple to lead Pasadena Poly to 17-4 baseball win

If you have any scores or stats from any local high school sporting events call them into the desk at 626-544-0992 or 0991 or scores@SGVN

Pasadena Poly 17, Chadwick 4 — Dylan Hanel went 2 for 3 with four RBIs and a triple and Griffin Carter, Morgan Dickerson, Bing Banta, Bryan Gleason, Joe Edwards, and Matt Van Citters each had two RBIs to lead the Panthers (5-2) to their first Prep League victory of the season.
Flintridge-Sacred Heart 8, Westridge 1 — Freshman Alli Lombardo pitched three innings striking out five and went 3 for 4 with three RBIs and Olivia Fitzpatrick went 2 for 4 with an RBI and a triple to lead the Tologs (4-4) to the nonleague win.
Boys volleyball
San Marino 3, Pasadena Poly 0 — Adam Stanford-Moore had five kills, Dean Behary had four blocks and Will McConnell had 18 assists for the Panthers (4-5) but it was not enough in a 25-12, 25-21, 25-7 nonleague loss.
Girls swimming
Pasadena Poly 121, Sierra Canyon 36 — The team of Rachel Min, Gabby Maarse, Heather Grotzinger and Susannah Laster led the Panthers (4-0) to win the 400 free relay. Grotzinger also won the 100 breast stroke.
Boys swimming
Pasadena Poly 128, Sierra Canyon 32 — Dean Johnson won the 200 freestyle and the team of Thomas Brooks, Luke Scheidemantle, Henry Brooks and Johnson won the 400 free relay to lead the Panthers (3-1) to the nonleague victory.
Boys tennis
Arcadia 17, Keppel 1 — Gary Zhu and Neal Goyal swept in singles and the teams of Henry Zhang and Kevin Yang and Brian Kim and Stanley Lim swept in doubles to lead the Apaches (9-0, 5-0) to the nonleague victory.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

SGV baseball teams donate $9,000 to Children’s Hospital

Photo by Taryn Rothstein

Twenty-four San Gabriel Valley and Whittier-area baseball teams helped raise $9,000 to Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles through a preseason tournament. They presented the money, and signed baseball for fellow youth this week. Participating in the hospital visit was:
Brett Harper, Cameron Henderson, Ruben Martinez, Alex Stamos, Daniel Saldivar (La Salle), Frankie Garriola, Nio Lopez, Sumner Smith (Pasadena), Brent Hirokawa (Bosco Tech), Daniel Alvarez, Alex Gonzalez (California), Spenser Rouse, Matt McGeach, Nick Monares, Austin Salvador (Loyola), Michael Luna (Arcadia), Jonathan Ramos (Hoover), Chandler Robbins (Burbank), Chris Clarke (Newbury Park), David Barta (Village Christian), Josh Speakes (Temple City). Attending coaches are Harry Agajanian, Ernesto Martin, John Valerio (La Salle), Mike Parisi and Chris Rucker (Pasadena) and Mike Cordero (Loyola).

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

All-Pacific League girls soccer team

Player of the year
Kelly Dopke, Arcadia
Coach of the year
Ryen Piszyk, Arcadia

First team
Michaella Cappello, Arcadia
Campbell Dopke, Arcadia
Megan Acosta, Arcadia
Eden Hardy, Arcadia
Grace Keller, Crescenta Valley
Natalia Victoria, Crescenta Valley
Sabrina Sessarego, Crescenta Valley
Kira Bochard, Burbank
Ryan Verhoeven, Burbank
Kristen Masuzumi, Burroughs
Jordan Miller, Hoover

Second team
Allison Hung, Arcadia
Isabella Dou, Arcadia
Erica Sawires, Arcadia
Lauren Cota, Crescenta Valley
Courtney Iannello, Crescenta Valley
Adrianne Sarukhanyan, Burbank
Brianna Castillo, Burroughs
Remi Miller, Hoover
Crystal Rivera, Glendale
Talar Boshgezenyan, Pasadena
Jazlyn Rodriguez, Muir

Honorable mention
Peyton Thomas, Arcadia
Sierra Lindman Marshall, Crescenta Valley
Nicole Winters, Burbank
Delila Varela, Burroughs
Seran Krikorian, Hoover
Heather Aquino, Glendale
Genevieve Tikasingh, Pasadena
Drae Upshaw, Muir

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

All-Pacific League boys soccer team

Player of the year
Avo Haroutunian, Glendale
Coaches of the year
Artur Aghasyan, Glendale
Alex Valdez, Arcadia

First team
Oscar Vanegas, Pasadena
Yezid Lopez, Pasadena
Duncan Schwartz, Pasadena
Scott Schwartz, Pasadena

Mathew Shafrazian, Glendale
Pablo Buenrostro, Glendale
Josh Arevalo, Glendale
Lucas Berger, Arcadia
Adam Alonzo, Arcadia
Fray Rodriguez, Muir
Andres Aguilar, Burroughs

Second team
Loui Ibrahim, Pasadena
Joshua Hernandez, Pasadena
Alexander Ramirez, Pasadena
Ervin Vartoomian, Glendale
Berj Ghazarian, Glendale
Ricardo Escobedo, Arcadia
Robert Aceves, Muir
V.J. Salazar, Burroughs
Justin Wright, Crescenta Valley
Patrick Lance, Burbank
Romio Sisilian, Hoover

Honorable mention
George Perez, Pasadena
Sanasar Mehrabi, Glendale
Forrest Hoffmann, Arcadia
Satchel Robinson, Muir
Alberto Rodriguez, Burroughs
Daniel Chang, Crescenta Valley
Gianluca Vitagliano, Burbank
Ervin Pagourtzis, Hoover

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

All-Pacific League girls basketball team

Player of the year
Davina Del Castillo, Burroughs
Coach of the year
Vicky Oganyan, Burroughs

First team
Sienna Brown, Burroughs
Sylvia Vartazarian, Glendale
Alisa Shinn, Crescenta Valley
Josie Brock, Crescenta Valley
Yassemeen Sa’Dullah, Burbank

Second team
Rachel Chavous, Arcadia
Delaney Nicol, Burroughs
Melissa Manouki, Hoover
Liana Esmaili, Crescenta Valley
Anastasia Tsybaeva, Burbank

Honorable mention
Nanor Sevajian, Hoover
Polin Megerdichian, Crescenta Valley
Alex Lee, Glendale
Abby Troy, Burbank
Melanie Chen, Arcadia
Brooke Radcliff, Burroughs
Jae Carter, Muir
Aleen Joukadarian, Pasadena

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email