South Carolina wins ECHL championship.


The South Carolina Stingrays won their record third ECHL Kelly Cup championship on Friday beating the Alaska Aces 4-2 in front of a standing-room-only crowd of 6,610 at Sullivan Arena in Anchorage, Alaska.

The Stingrays won the inaugural Kelly Cup in 1997 and became the first two-time champion in 2001. The three championships tie the league record for titles as Hampton Road won the Riley Cup, the trophy presented to the ECHL winner from 1989-96, in 1991 and 1992 and the Kelly Cup in 1998. South Carolina coach Jared Bednar was a player in 1997 and 2001 and is the first player or coach to have his name engraved on the Kelly Cup three times.

South Carolina rookie goaltender James Reimer, who made 26 saves in Game 7, was named the Most Valuable Player after going 3-1 with a shutout, a goals-against average of 1.64 and a save percentage of .942 in the Finals.

This entry was posted in Ontario Reign/ECHL by J.P. Hoornstra. Bookmark the permalink.

About J.P. Hoornstra

J.P. Hoornstra covers the Dodgers, Angels and Major League Baseball for the Orange County Register, Los Angeles Daily News, Long Beach Press-Telegram, Torrance Daily Breeze, San Gabriel Valley Tribune, Pasadena Star-News, San Bernardino Sun, Inland Valley Daily Bulletin, Whittier Daily News and Redlands Daily Facts. Before taking the beat in 2012, J.P. covered the NHL for four years. UCLA gave him a degree once upon a time; when he graduated on schedule, he missed getting Arnold Schwarzenegger's autograph on his diploma by five months.