Reign announce season-ending roster.

The Reign have announced their season-ending roster, a list of 20 players among whom the team may submit qualifying offers to no more than eight by 8:59 p.m. July 1.

A few notable names were left off the list: Forwards Brad Mehalko, Doug Spooner and Ryan MacGregor; and goaltender Linden Rowat. Their exclusion has little bearing on whether or not they will return for the 2009-10 season, coach Karl Taylor explained. More details on this in tomorrow’s editions.

Five other players listed on the Reign’s protected list were not eligible for inclusion on the season-ending roster (Brandon Benedict, Preston Callander, Scott Champagne, Kris Tebbs and Corey LeClair) because they did not sign with an ECHL team last season.

The full list: Chad Starling, Shawn Germain, Darren McMillan, Todd Jackson, Geoff Walker, Jon Rheault, Jon Francisco, Dale Reinhardt, Tim Kraus, Dan Knapp, Mike Howe, David Walker, Denny Johnston, Andrew Martens, Kellen Briggs, Maxime Boisclair, Ryan Bowness, Dusty Collins, Chris Curran and Jason Tejchma.

This entry was posted in Ontario Reign/ECHL by J.P. Hoornstra. Bookmark the permalink.

About J.P. Hoornstra

J.P. Hoornstra covers the Dodgers, Angels and Major League Baseball for the Orange County Register, Los Angeles Daily News, Long Beach Press-Telegram, Torrance Daily Breeze, San Gabriel Valley Tribune, Pasadena Star-News, San Bernardino Sun, Inland Valley Daily Bulletin, Whittier Daily News and Redlands Daily Facts. Before taking the beat in 2012, J.P. covered the NHL for four years. UCLA gave him a degree once upon a time; when he graduated on schedule, he missed getting Arnold Schwarzenegger's autograph on his diploma by five months.