National Conference all-star replacements announced.

Please make the following changes to your National Conference All-Star roster …

Chris D’Alvise of the Stockton Thunder, Adam Miller of the Las Vegas Wranglers and Shawn Weller of the Bakersfield Condors have been added to the National Conference roster for the 2010 ECHL All-Star Game and Skills Competition.

Miller replaces Reign winger Jon Rheault, who is currently in the American Hockey League with Manchester, while D’Alvise replaces Dan Sexton of Bakersfield, who is currently playing in the National Hockey League, and Weller replaces Condors teammate MacGregor Sharp, who is currently playing for San Antonio in the AHL.

For the rest of the roster, please click here.

Also, in case you missed it, click here for today’s notebook.

Reign trainer Walls among all-stars.

Reign head trainer/equipment manager Bobby Walls became an all-star Thursday, chosen among the equipment managers and athletic trainers for the 2010 ECHL All-Star Game and All-Star Skills Competition, Jan. 19-20 at The Bank.

In addition to Walls, the equipment managers are Mike Burkhead of the Alaska Aces for the National Conference and John Williams of the South Carolina Stingrays for the American Conference, while the athletic trainers are Mike Plandowski of the Utah Grizzlies for the National Conference and Bob Case of the Cincinnati Cyclones for the American Conference.

Walls is in his second season with the Reign after serving in a similar capacity for the Long Beach Ice Dogs. He worked for the Kings of the NHL as rehabilitation trainer and most recently as an assistant athletic trainer for the USC men’s basketball team.

Certified with the National Athletic Trainers Association and a certified Emergency Medical Technician, Walls received his bachelor’s degree in physical education with an emphasis on athletic training and a minor in biology from California State University Dominguez Hills. He was the head student trainer at Cerritos College from 1996-99 and was the head trainer at North Torrance High School from 1998-2002.

All-Star Game coaches announced.

The ECHL on Saturday announced that the coaches for the 2010 ECHL All-Star Game will be Derek Laxdal of the Idaho Steelheads and Marty Raymond of the Bakersfield Condors for the host National Conference, and Cail MacLean of the South Carolina Stingrays and Derek Wilkinson of the Charlotte Checkers for the American Conference.

Laxdal and MacLean were chosen by having the best winning percentage in their conferences, while Raymond and Wilkinson were selected using a combination of votes from coaches in their own conference and winning percentage.

South Carolina is 24-8-4 and leads the ECHL with 52 points and 24 wins while Idaho is 23-8-2 and leads the league with a winning percentage of .727. Bakersfield is 19-9-2 and ranks second in the National Conference and third in the league with 40 points and a winning percentage of .667 while Charlotte is 16-10-4 and ranks sixth in the league with a winning percentage of .600.

It is the first All-Star coaching appearance for all four.

Following are the bios of each as provided by the league:
Continue reading “All-Star Game coaches announced.” »

American Conference all-stars announced.

The American Conference all-star team was announced today. While it’s a group of mostly unfamiliar names to Reign fans, it includes the ECHL’s leading scorer (Justin Donati), a former first-round draft pick (A.J. Thelen) and several players who are already in the American Hockey League.

Here is the full roster. Print it out, along with the National Conference roster, and make your own program!

Reign all-stars: Walker, Hogeboom, Lenes, Rheault

David Walker and Greg Hogeboom will start, and childhood friends Jon Rheault and Peter Lenes will come off the bench, for the National Conference all-star team at the ECHL All-Star Game on Jan. 20.

All four made the final cut, announced Wednesday and determined in voting by National Conference coaches, team captains, media directors, broadcasters and media members. Coaches also submitted the top prospects from within their conference to determine the final roster with each of the eight teams having a representative.

Continue reading “Reign all-stars: Walker, Hogeboom, Lenes, Rheault” »