County clash set for Saturday

The 14th annual County Clash will take place Saturday at Arrowhead Credit Union Park with a baseball tripleheader starting at 1 p.m.

Colton and San Bernardino will start things off with a San Andreas League game at 1 p.m. and will be followed by two Citrus Belt League clashes — Eisenhower vs. Redlands East Valley at 4 and Carter vs. Yucaipa at 7. Tickets can be purchased at the schools or at the 66ers’ box office on Saturday.

This is the first of two County Clashes, with another one set to take place May 8.

Conner recovering at home nicely after heart attack

Bloomington football coach Tom Conner is young (35 years old) and presumably in good shape. So when he felt sharp chest pains during a pickup basketball game last Thursday at Bloomington High School, he was predictably alarmed.

“I was playing basketball and all of a sudden I got this sharp pain,” Conner said. “I told the coaches with me that it probably sounds silly but I need to get to the emergency room right away. It’s a 40-50 minute wait for the paramedics to get to Bloomington and back and I needed to get there right away.”
Continue reading

All-star boys basketball rosters

Here is the San Bernardino roster for the San Bernardino-Riverside All-Star Game set for 8 p.m. on April 14 at Cajon High School. Admission is $5 for this and the girls’ game at 6 p.m.

San Bernardino
Evan Brooks, Colony
Darrius Butts, Miller
Julian Caldwell, Colony
Devonte Chattman, San Bernardino
Chris Collins, Chino Hills
Aaron Crocket, Etiwanda
Keauyon Fields, Apple Valley
Matt Green, Redlands
Tyree Harrison, Cajon
Justin Long, Rancho Cucamonga
Tyler Makieg, Lake Arrowhead Christian
Justin Malan, Victor Valley
Eric Marshall, Arroyo Valley
Kenneth Morgan, Summit
J.J. O’Brien, Alta Loma
Chris Powell, Upland
Jamari Simmons, Cajon
Cameron Upshire, San Gorgonio
Pascual Valadez, Montclair
David Wedge, Kaiser
Kendall Williams, Los Osos
Coach: Steve Hickey, Summit

All-star girls basketball rosters

The rosters for the San Bernardino-Riverside All-Star Basketball game to be held April 14 at 6 p.m. at Cajon High School

San Bernardino
Ashley Watkins, Silverado
Haley White, Colony
Dreanna Underwood, Redlands East Valley
Joirdan Jones, Los Osos
Alyssa Domingo, Summit
April Fultz, Eisenhower
Ariel Marsh, Ayala
Katie Anderson, Los Osos
Kristal Bevely, Upland
Maiya Michel, Summit
Rhema Gardner, Ayala
Angela Weber, Ayala
Jasmine Ray, San Bernardino
Rahdanae Taylor, Eisenhower
Shelby Kaenel, Redlands East Valley
Brittney Neeley, Redlands
Teonna Campbell, Colony
Deandre Ferguson, San Bernardino
Coach: Mel Sims, Ayala

Crystal Deedas, La Sierra
Melissa Rivera, Paloma Valley
Ambria White, Moreno Valley
Kelsey Beard, Centennial
Candyce Matthews, King
Janelle Flores, Palm Springs
Desiree Jackson, Vista Del Lago
Jazmine Zamora, Greak Oak
Joanna Hernandez, Beaumont
Heather Wohlk, Arlington
Dynese Adams, Vista Murrieta
Stephanie Bryant, Jurupa Valley
Jasmine Lister, Santiago
Ashley Carter, Arlington
Shawlina Segovia, North
Tacoya Tyler, Vista Del Lago
Cinnamon Lister, Santiago
Kerad Natividad, Citrus Hill
Natalie Chafeh, Notre Dame
Cebrina Johnson, Santiago
Amber Smith, Canyon Springs
Christine Pascua, Notre Dame
Coach: John Perez, Santiago

All-CIF-SS girls basketball teams

Here’s the female hoopster version. No MVPs or coaches of the year, but plenty of recognized talent in the county.

Division 1-AA
First Team
Teonna Campbell, Colony, Sr.
Jada Blackwell, Etiwanda, Sr.

Second Team
Kori Walker, Cajon, Jr.
Jasmine Bernard, Etiwanda, Sr.
Janae Sharpe, Rialto, Jr.

Division 1-A
First Team
Jillian Alleyne, Ayala, So.
Krishawn Tillett, Ayala, Sr.
Briana Baker, Rancho Cucamonga, Jr.
Ana Brodie, Summit, So.
Adrienne Thomas, Summit, Sr.

Second Team
Ariel Marsh, Ayala, Sr.
Ericka Norman, Chino Hills, Sr.
Casey Zinn, Chino Hills, Jr.
Erica Evans, Rancho Cucamonga, So.
Ashley Weissman, Summit, So.

Division 2-AA
Second Team
Jashae Lee, Sultana, Jr.

Division 2-A
Second Team
Jasmine Ray, San Bernardino, Sr.

Division 3-AA
Second Team
April Fultz, Eisenhower, Sr.

Division 3-A
First Team
Nisha Barrett, Barstow, Sr.

Second Team
Cherrelle Green, Barstow, Sr.

Division 4-A
Second Team
Irie Engesser, Twentynine Palms, Sr.

Division 5-AA
Second Team
Danielle Dirksen, Ontario Christian, Jr.

Division 5-A
Second Team
Stevie Goldstein, Aquinas, Sr.

Division 6-AA
First Team
Breanna McCloud, Hesperia Christian, Sr.

Second Team
Cassie Morris, Victor Valley Christian, So.

Division 6-A
First Team
Lara Richmond, Apple Valley Christian, Sr.
Maya Machler, Lake Arrowhead Christian, Jr.

Second Team
Julia Giacopuzzi, Lake Arrowhead Christian, Jr.

All-CIF-SS boys basketball teams

Before I start I want to apologize for not posting in the past week. Had a death in the family, so I was out of town on personal business. So I have some catching up to do.

Here are the local all-CIF boys basketball players. Eisenhower dominated the 2-A superlatives, with Alex Varner, Kirby Gardner and Steve Johnson all being honored.

Division 1-AA
First Team
Byron Wesley, Etiwanda, Jr.
Kendall Williams, Los Osos, Sr.
John Gilliam, Upland, Jr.

Second Team
Jordan Daniels, Etiwanda, Jr.
Khalil Kelly, Los Osos, Sr.
Christopher Powell, Upland, Sr.

Division 1-A
First Team
Tyree Harrison, Cajon, Sr.
Derek Brown, Chino Hills, Sr.
Evan Brooks, Colony, Sr.

Second Team
Julian Caldwell, Colony, Sr.
Justin Long, Rancho Cucamonga, Sr.

Division 2-AA
First Team
J.J. O’Brien, Alta Loma, Sr.
Ken Morgan, Summit, Sr.

Second Team
Zeke DeBlase, Victor Valley, Jr.

Division 2-A
Players of the Year: Alex Varner, Eisenhower, Sr. and Kirby Gardner, Eisenhower, Sr.
Coaches of the Year: Steve Johnson, Eisenhower and Marc Hart, Baldwin Park

Second Team
Bryan Bock, Eisenhower, Sr.
Devonte Chattman, San Bernardino, Sr.

Division 3-AA
Second Team
Keauyon Fields, Apple Valley, Sr.

Division 5-AA
Second Team
Zack Cruz, Loma Linda Academy, Sr.
Sammy Santillano, Western Christian, Sr.

Division 5-A
First Team
Courtland Wharton, Aquinas, Jr.

Second Team
Joey Szczepanski, Bloomington Christian, Sr.

Division 6-AA
First Team
Chris Maeerzluft, Hesperia Christian, Sr.
Eric O’Brien, Hesperia Christian, So.

Second Team
Josh Ford, Hesperia Christian, Sr.

Division 6-A
Second Team
Kyle Franklin, Public Safety Academy, Jr.

All-CIF-SS boys soccer teams

Plenty of county boys soccer players were recognized by the CIF-SS offices when the all-CIF soccer teams were unveiled earlier today. But Oak Hills junior forward Juan Nuno went the extra mile, earning Offensive MVP honors for the Bulldogs, who advanced to the Division 6 finals in their inaugural year. Oak Hills coach Darren Goodman was also named coach of the year.
Continue reading

Yucaipa baseball advances to championship game in Tucson

Yucaipa won its semifinal game of the Sal Pointe Classic in Tucson, Arizona on Thursday night, beating Burbank 6-4 in a game that was reported after our deadline.
Yucaipa overcame six errors as Kevin Davidson (3-0) allowed only one earned run in six innings and went 2-for-4 with three RBIs at the plate.
Yucaipa plays in Friday’s championship game against Tucson Canyon del Oro at 7 p.m. Canyon del Oro is 12-0 on the season and is currently ranked eighth in Arizona and second in its division by Sounds like it will be a second straight good test for the Thunderbirds, who crushed opponents in the early part of the tournament en route to the semifinals.