Cajon stuns Etiwanda in girls basketball

It was not a huge surprise that Cajon defeated Etiwanda on Friday in the championship game of the Ayala Best of the West Tournament.
After all, Cajon (16-0) is undefeated for a reason. How they did it was another matter.
Trailing 18-4 in the first quarter and 34-17 in the second, the Cowgirls figured out Etiwanda’s press and rallied, eventually taking a 63-60 victory at Ayala High School.
“We wanted to finish this year undefeated,” Cajon coach Mark Lehman said on New Year’s Eve. “Now we want to go undefeated next year.”
After Etiwanda (11-2) closed to within 63-60 on a Jada Blackwell (15 points) 3-pointer with about 20 seconds to play, Etiwanda had two more possessions. One resulted in a turnover, the other in a desperation 3-pointer at the buzzer that missed everything.
Shannon Moore was impressive in the rally for Cajon, scoring 10 of her team-high 14 points in the second half. Kori Walker had 10 of her 12 in the second half, Angelica Guardado scored 12 and Sophia Bhasin scored all 10 of her points in the second half.
Etiwanda led 52-49 on a basket by Met Onogomuho (game-high 16 points) with 4:54 to play, but a 14-5 run by the Cowgirls gave them the upper hand.
Etiwanda’s efforts were hurt at the point guard position. Rachel Williams got in early foul trouble and was not as effective as usual. The other point guard, senior Angelique Bailey, suffered a partially torn meniscus in the first game of the tournament and is expected to miss another week.

All-Ambassador League teams

Back from vacation and publishing these a bit late.

Offensive MVP: Burrell Handy, Jr., Aquinas
Defensive MVP: Zack Williams, Sr., Aquinas
Coach of the Year: Nick Matheny, Aquinas
Sportsmanship Award: Calvary Murrieta

First Team
Shaquille Gilbert, Sr., Aquinas
Burrell Handy, Jr., Aquinas
Troy Knowlton, Sr., Aquinas
Roberto Martinez, Sr., Aquinas
Joshua McPeck, Sr., Aquinas
Mikael Valdez, Sr., Aquinas
Zack Williams, Sr., Aquinas
Patrick Blaylock, Sr., Linfield Christian
Gabe Grene, Sr., Linfield Christian
Nick Moreno, Jr., Linfield Christian
Levi Rolban, Sr., Linfield Christian
A.J. Hettinga, Sr., Ontario Christian
Jordan Kloosterman, Sr., Ontario Christian
T.J. Spykstra, So., Ontario Christian
Morgan Whalen, Sr., Ontario Christian
Sang Ha Lee, Sr., Western Christian
Christian Solis, Sr., Western Christian
John Koehn, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Kirk Pearce, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Sam Schwab, Sr., Calvary Murrieta

Second Team
Richard Anhauser, Jr., Aquinas
Joshua Joseph, Sr., Aquinas
Frank Klementich, Jr., Aquinas
Raymond Padilla, Fr., Aquinas
Patrick Browning, Jr., Linfield Christian
Anthony Simeone, So., Linfield Christian
Matt Wilson, Jr., Linfield Christian
Mike Salas, Jr., Ontario Christian
Mike Mendoza, Jr., Western Christian
Andrew Sutton, Sr., Western Christian
Jeremy Eldridge, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Jacob Stephenson, Sr., Arrowhead Christian
Ryan Bannon, Sr., Calvary Murrieta
James Prosmire, Jr., Calvary Murrieta
Continue reading

All-Sierra League football team

Oregon commit Ifo-Ekpre Olomu caps off a stellar career at Chino Hills by winning the league’s MVP. Teammate Auston Johnson rode 21 sacks to defensive MVP honors, with fellow playoff teams Claremont and Charter Oak splitting the offensive MVP honors.

Player of the year: Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Chino Hills, Sr.
Co-offensive MVPs: Daniel Kessler, Claremont, Sr., Dennis Rufus, Charter Oak, Sr.
Defensive MVP: Auston Johnson, Chino Hills, Sr.

QB: Vince Hernandez, South Hills, Sr.
QB: Travis Santiago, Charter Oak, Sr.
RB: Nate Harris, Chino Hills, Sr.
RB: Jamal Hart, South Hills, Jr.
RB: James Ramirez, Damien, Sr.
WR: Chris Gilchrist, Charter Oak, Jr.
WR: Josiah Thropay, Charter Oak, Sr.
WR: Scott Calles,Chino Hills, Sr.
WR: Aaron Dockery, Claremont, Jr.
WR: Tanner Kuramata, Claremont, Sr.
WR: Jack Reeder, Claremont, Sr.

OL: Travis Doll, Charter Oak, Sr.
OL: Nick Enriquez, Chino Hills, Jr.
OL: Robert Soliz, Chino Hills,Sr.
OL: Shaquille Davis, Claremont, Sr.
OL: Sioasi Aiono, South Hills, Sr.
OL: Jeff Vargas, South Hills, Sr.
PK: Joey Cejudo, Chino Hills, Sr.

DL: Charlie Avila, Charter Oak, Sr.
DL: Maurice Clement, Charter Oak, Sr.
DL: Brad Bergen, Chino Hills, Sr.
DL: Brandon Tuliapupu, Claremont, Sr.
DL: Peter Nonu, South Hills, Sr.
LB: Nick Alexander, Charter Oak, Sr.
LB: Greg Bennett, Chino Hills, Sr.
LB: Nick Gonzales, Chino Hills, Sr.
LB: Jake Okerman, Claremont, Sr.
LB: James Wernli, Claremont, Jr.
LB: Griffin Lord, Damien, Sr.
DB: Scott Calles, Chino Hills, Sr.
DB: Nate Harris, Chino Hills, Sr.
DB: Steven Smith, Chino Hills, Sr.
DB: Andrew Tarankow, Claremont, Jr.
DB: Dorian Granados, Damien, Sr.
P: Denny Hageman, Damien, Jr.

Continue reading