Damien’s Kohler commits to USC

Straying over into Clay Fowler’s territory a bit with this post, but Damien sophomore pitcher/outfielder Christopher Kohler verbally committed to USC yesterday according to his parents, Michelle and Richard Kohler. Kohler, who is a lefthanded pitcher and a centerfielder, gave his commitment after a visit to USC.

“Christopher has been a huge Trojan fan all of his life, so this wasn’t a hard decision,” Richard Kohler said. “Because of his age they can’t do anything but send us mail and questionnaires. We visited there a couple of times, they offered and we accepted.”

Kohler, who doesn’t turn 16 until May 4, is one of the top Southern California prospects in the class of 2013, getting USC’s attention during a showcase this past summer at the Dodgers’ spring training complex in Glendale, Ariz. While USC was his first scholarship offer, Kohler was getting attention from almost every notable baseball school on the West Coast, most notably UCLA, UC Irvine, Cal State Fullerton and Arizona State.

Bloomington Christian to host recruiting seminar

Speaking of football recruiting, Bloomington Christian will be hosting a seminar by the National Collegiate Scouting Association at 7 p.m. on January 31 called “College Recruiting Simplified.”

The keynote speaker for the seminar is Derrick Mayes, a former NFL wide receiver who played for the Green Bay Packers and the Seattle Seahawks from 1996-2000, winning a Super Bowl ring with the Packers in 1996. Mayes, who attended Notre Dame, serves as the NSCA’s Athletic Recruiting educational speaker.

People not affiliated with Bloomington Christian who wish to attend the seminar can contact Tiffany Menzione at (312) 624-7437.

Miller opens up football coaching search

After flying the job through the district, Miller High School opened up the search for its next head football coach to out-of-district candidates Tuesday to what athletic director John Romagnoli described as a lot of interest.

“We have calls and resumes coming in from all over,” Romagnoli said. “It’s been a pretty hectic response. In-state, out-of-state, high school, college. We have a lot of people interested in this job and for good reason. We have a new stadium and a lot of talent.”

The position opened up in a bizarre manner November 10, as Jeff Strycula was removed less than 24 hours before the Rebels played Redlands East Valley in their season finale with the league title on the line as a reaction to a hazing incident involving several players. Miller was coached by Mike Farnam, who is Miller’s head track coach, in the game, which it lost 21-7 to eliminate it from the playoffs.

As far as Strycula’s replacement, Romagnoli said that the ad for the position would be posted until next Wednesday, with finalists and interviews being chosen and given shortly after the posting closes.

“There were a lot of loose ends that had to be tied before we opened the job,” Romagnoli said. “I made it my duty right after we got back from winter break to get this process going and we’ll work hard to get a new football coach in here.”