Eisenhower names new football coach, baseball coach and athletic director

The summer of change at Eisenhower High School has continued, with the naming of a new athletic director, football coach and baseball coach.

Gilbert Pulido, who has been at the school coaching baseball for the last eight years, takes over as athletic director. He takes over for Steve Johnson, who was asked not to return as A.D. Johnson was shot in a park in San Bernardino in January and had already stepped down as boys basketball coach.

Pulido has been the head baseball coach at the last five years, going 3-22 last year in the rugged Citrus Belt League.

Even though Johnson served as both basketball coach and athletic director, as a novice athletic director, Pulido thought it best to resign as baseball coach.

So Angel Arratia, who had been Pulido’s assistant the last four years, takes over as head baseball coach.

Taking over as head football coach is Mike Clark, who was an assistant for Vinny Fazio, last season takes over for Fazio. Fazio left to coach at Murrieta Valley after there was no teaching job guaranteed for him.

Clark was the obvious choice. He has been an assistant coach from 2000-06 and again from 2009-12. He was the only one of Fazio’s assistants who was on-campus. With teaching jobs at a premium, he was the obvious choice. He was also running the summer program in Fazio’s absence. He will also be bringing along veteran coach Jeff Strycula, who was on Fazio’s staff. Strycula is a former head coach, but is not on campus.

Share this

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

Johnson out as athletic director at Eisenhower, resigns as boys basketball coach

From Staff Writer Clay Fowler:

Decorated coach Steve Johnson will not return as Eisenhower High School’s athletic director or boys basketball coach this coming school year, according to Rialto Unified School District director of communications Syeda Jafri.

The former Sun Coach of the Year returned to his athletic director position briefly after recovering from gunshot wounds suffered Jan. 21 at an inner-city park in San Bernardino.

The 47-year-old Johnson was not asked to return as athletic director by newly appointed Eisenhower principal Scott Sparks. Johnson chose not to return as boys basketball coach for a program he turned into one of the area’s best over the last 19 years.

“Both the new Rialto and Eisenhower principals opened the athletic directors’ positions up going toward a different direction,” Jafri said. “Mr. Johnson chose not to return to coach basketball for next school year. The district has not opened the position yet.”

Sparks was not available for comment. Johnson did not respond to phone messages.

Continue reading “Johnson out as athletic director at Eisenhower, resigns as boys basketball coach” »

Share this

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

All-CIF-SS boys basketball teams

Before I start I want to apologize for not posting in the past week. Had a death in the family, so I was out of town on personal business. So I have some catching up to do.

Here are the local all-CIF boys basketball players. Eisenhower dominated the 2-A superlatives, with Alex Varner, Kirby Gardner and Steve Johnson all being honored.

Division 1-AA
First Team
Byron Wesley, Etiwanda, Jr.
Kendall Williams, Los Osos, Sr.
John Gilliam, Upland, Jr.

Second Team
Jordan Daniels, Etiwanda, Jr.
Khalil Kelly, Los Osos, Sr.
Christopher Powell, Upland, Sr.

Division 1-A
First Team
Tyree Harrison, Cajon, Sr.
Derek Brown, Chino Hills, Sr.
Evan Brooks, Colony, Sr.

Second Team
Julian Caldwell, Colony, Sr.
Justin Long, Rancho Cucamonga, Sr.

Division 2-AA
First Team
J.J. O’Brien, Alta Loma, Sr.
Ken Morgan, Summit, Sr.

Second Team
Zeke DeBlase, Victor Valley, Jr.

Division 2-A
Players of the Year: Alex Varner, Eisenhower, Sr. and Kirby Gardner, Eisenhower, Sr.
Coaches of the Year: Steve Johnson, Eisenhower and Marc Hart, Baldwin Park

Second Team
Bryan Bock, Eisenhower, Sr.
Devonte Chattman, San Bernardino, Sr.

Division 3-AA
Second Team
Keauyon Fields, Apple Valley, Sr.

Division 5-AA
Second Team
Zack Cruz, Loma Linda Academy, Sr.
Sammy Santillano, Western Christian, Sr.

Division 5-A
First Team
Courtland Wharton, Aquinas, Jr.

Second Team
Joey Szczepanski, Bloomington Christian, Sr.

Division 6-AA
First Team
Chris Maeerzluft, Hesperia Christian, Sr.
Eric O’Brien, Hesperia Christian, So.

Second Team
Josh Ford, Hesperia Christian, Sr.

Division 6-A
Second Team
Kyle Franklin, Public Safety Academy, Jr.

Share this

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email