San Marino and La Mirada win regional bowls, now seek State bowl championships


San Marino 36, Sierra Canyon 35: The Titans won the southern regional small schools division bowl championship with a stirring rally to beat Sierra Canyon in a battle of undefeated teams. San Marino trailed 35-14 in the fourth quarter, and without QB Carson Glazier (head injury), things looked bleak. But the Titans rallied and took the lead for good with just over a minute to play on Mark Wicke’s 2-point conversion run. INCREDIBLE GAME!

La Mirada 36, Oceanside 14: La Mirada continues to make mince meat of the postseason. The Matadores scored yet another blowout win, this time to win the southern regional Division III-AA bowl over Oceanside. QB Tristan Meyer has been amazing, as has running back Sei-J Lauago. The Mats host Campolindo in the State championship bowl next weekend.

Camarillo 63, La Habra 49: The Higlanders simply couldn’t keep up with Camarillo’s high-powered pass attack. LH finished the season 13-2 and won the Southwest Division championship.

  • Semper Titanius

    Incredible effort by this TEAM . . . OF . . . DESTINY!! Never gave up!! Boys, you have inspired the city, the community, and the valley!! What a game! What a season! Win State!!

    • guest

      Play Hard
      Play Smart
      Play Together.

      To have SM’s 4,000 yds plus QB leave the game injured, a lot of teams would have quit, but in the middle of the Third Quarter after a missed SC field goal, the tide turned. SC got tired and SM dug down deep.

      if you wrote it as a script for a Hollywood Movie a producer would throw you out, saying it was too unbelievable for anyone to believe..but it happened, you bet it happened.

      If you weren’t there you missed a hellava game.

    • tanksolot

      Amazing win. Hope CG is OK.

    • Valley Athletics

      amazing win . SM will win by 30 next week

    • Nomoredrama

      Best Game I’ve witnessed in a very long time! A true example of the results of “Never giving Up!”

  • AramT

    Anyone else find it ironic that Wicke’s 2-point conversion came in the same end zone just feet away from Ukropina’s sneak to beat Santa Maria for CIF title in 1988? I dunno. I found it odd that I was standing in nearly the exact same place watching it all happen.

    This San Marino team is magical. You have to be to have a season like this. You have to be good, talented, smart and magical. One of the best teams in any sport I’ve ever covered.

    • mr power

      Hey Aram,

      Hope your on the state playoff system now. Tell the Trib to pay you to come up to sac. Central Cahtolic is a helluva team and San Marino might be able to pull it off. Get on the bus and get up to state!

  • vegemighty

    What an amazing comeback! Too bad it had to happen in a “POINTLESS” game that the San Marino players didn’t really care about after fulfilling their more meaningful goal last week.

    • guest


      Somebody had to say it!