The Galaxy came from behind to win for the first time this season – and record a victory for only the second time in 13 games – on another spectacular goal from Chris Klein.
Klein, who scored a magical bicycle kick in extra time in the SuperLiga final, collected the ball on the outside of the Dallas penalty box after Carlos Pavon had jumped over (deliberately, apparently) a long grass-cutting cross from Cobi Jones, who was playing in his 300th MLS game. Klein unleashed a blistering blast that almost ruptured the top left corner of the net and left Dallas goalkeeper Dario Sala with no chance.
The Galaxy apparently have a far better chance of scoring when Pavon doesn’t actually touch the ball, a point proved seven minutes later when the Honduran, put through alone on Sala, shot the ball straight at the goalkeeper.
Pavon – whose goalscoring instincts are nearing the level of the almost legendary misser of sitters, Pando Ramirez – also somehow managed to miss from just six yards out in the 67th minute from a Jones cross.
The Galaxy (5-13-6) now have 21 points, but remain in last place in the league tied with Toronto on points.
Let’s hope the locker room is a bit happier.
Updated: It was.
“It felt good to have a bit of luck for a change,” said a smiling Yallop, who also observed that Dallas looked tired after playing Thursday against Chicago. “I looked at Dallas and thought, ‘I know how they feel.’ … We’ve been doing that for the last six weeks.”
And they’ll be doing it for a few more; the Galaxy play Thursday in Kansas City and Sunday in Columbus as the great no-show Beckham tour of MLS continues.
How tired was Dallas in the second half? They had just one shot on goal.
Yallop defended Pavon’s poor touch in front of goal.
“I still think there’s goals in him,” he said. “His finishing is amazing in practice. He needs to just bury one and he’s off.”
Landon Donovan said he didn’t know why the refereee called back his first successful penalty, saying he didn’t hear a whistle.
But Sala apparently directed some choice words at Donovan in Spanish after the first attempt.
“After I scored (the second spot kick effort), I let him know he probably shouldn’t rile me up,” Donovan said.
And that’s why Donovan received a yellow card. He looked like he thought it was worth it.
Updated: Duffer Billy Witz has the game details.