MLS Schedule Released, EPL in the U.S. & More

MLS released its full 2008 fixture list this morning.

The Galaxy will have no excuses for a slow start: four of their first five games are at home.

Highlights:
A total of 113 games (out of 210) will be shown nationally on ESPN2 and ABC, Fox Soccer Channel/Fox Sports en Espaol, HDNet and TeleFutura.
The 14 clubs will play 30 regular season games over 31 weeks, playing each other twice (home and away), for 26 games. The remaining four games will be played against different intra-conference teams (two home and two away), with consideration given to rivalries.
ESPN2 airs 27 MLS Primetime Thursday regular season contests, beginning with a doubleheader on April 3 and the All-Star game.
ABC is scheduled to broadcast a unique soccer doubleheader June 29: the Galaxy at D.C. United at 9 a.m. followed by the Euro 2008 final.
The four teams with the best regular season records in 2007 will represent MLS in the second edition of SuperLiga: D.C. United, Chivas USA, Houston Dynamo and New England Revolution.

Here’s the complete Galaxy schedule:
Saturday March 29 at Colorado 6:30 p.m. FSC/HDNet

Thursday April 3 vs. San Jose 7:30 p.m. ESPN2
Sunday April 13 vs. Toronto FC 12:00 p.m. TeleFutura
Saturday April 19 vs. Houston 7:30 p.m.
Saturday April 26 vs. Chivas USA 7:30 p.m. FSC

Saturday May 3 at Real Salt Lake 6:00 p.m.
Saturday May 10 vs. New York 7:30 p.m. HDNet
Sunday May 18 at FC Dallas 12:00 p.m. TeleFutura
Saturday May 24 vs. Kansas City 7:30 p.m. HDNet
Saturday May 31 at Toronto FC 12:30 p.m.

Saturday June 7 vs. Colorado 7:30 p.m.
Saturday June 14 at San Jose 7:00 p.m. FSC
Saturday June 21 vs. Columbus 7:30 p.m.
Sunday June 29 at D.C. United 9:00 a.m. ABC

Friday July 4 vs. New England 7:30 p.m.
Thursday July 10 vs. Chivas USA 8:00 p.m. ESPN2
Saturday July 19 at New York 3:30 p.m. FSC
Sunday July 27 at FC Dallas 4:00 p.m.

Sunday August 3 at San Jose 12:00 p.m. TeleFutura
Thursday August 14 at Chivas USA 7:30 p.m. ESPN2
Thursday August 21 vs. Chicago 7:30 p.m. ESPN2
Saturday August 30 at New England 4:30 p.m. HDNet

Saturday September 6 vs. Real Salt Lake 7:30 p.m.
Saturday September 13 at Kansas City 5:00 p.m. HDNet
Saturday September 20 vs. D.C. United 8:00 p.m. FSC
Thursday September 25 at Chicago 6:00 p.m. ESPN2

Saturday October 4 at Columbus 4:30 p.m. HDNet
Sunday October 12 vs. Colorado 5:00 p.m.
Sunday October 19 at Houston 4:00 p.m.
Sunday October 26 vs. FC Dallas 12:00 p.m. TeleFutura

Here’s the Chivas USA schedule:
Sunday March 30 @ FC Dallas Noon

Saturday April 5 Real Salt Lake 6:00 p.m.
Saturday April 12 @ Columbus Crew 4:30 p.m.
Sunday April 20 FC Dallas 5:00 p.m.
Saturday April 26 @ Los Angeles Galaxy 7:30 p.m.

Saturday May 3 @ Houston Dynamo 5:30 p.m.
Sunday May 11 New England Revolution Noon
Saturday May 17 D.C. United 7:30 p.m.
Saturday May 24 @ Colorado Rapids 6:30 p.m.
Saturday May 31 Columbus Crew 7:30 p.m.

Thursday June 5 @ New York Red Bulls 4:30 p.m.
Saturday June 14 Real Salt Lake 7:30 p.m.
Thursday June 19 Chicago Fire 7:30 p.m.
Saturday June 28 New York Red Bulls 7:30 p.m.

Saturday July 5 San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m.
Thursday July 10 @ Los Angeles Galaxy 8:00 p.m.

Saturday Aug. 2 @ Chicago Fire 5:30 p.m.
Saturday Aug. 9 @ Kansas City Wizards 5:00 p.m.
Thursday Aug. 14 Los Angeles Galaxy 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday Aug. 20 @ Houston Dynamo 6:00 p.m.
Saturday Aug. 23 San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m.
Saturday Aug. 30 Toronto FC 7:30 p.m.

Saturday Sept. 6 Toronto FC 1:00 p.m.
Thursday Sept. 11 @ New England Revolution 4:30 p.m.
Saturday Sept. 20 @ Real Salt Lake 6:00 p.m.
Saturday Sept. 27 Kansas City Wizards 7:30 p.m.

Saturday Oct. 4 @ D.C. United 4:30 p.m.
Saturday Oct. 11 @ San Jose Earthquakes 7:00 p.m.
Sunday Oct. 19 Colorado Rapids Noon
Saturday Oct. 25 Houston Dynamo 7:30 p.m.

Following the lead of the NFL, it looks like the EPL will hold regular season games overseas.

LA is specifically mentioned in this story.

How about a Manchester United-Liverpool, Galaxy-Chivas USA doubleheader broadcast live worldwide from the Coliseum?

Finally, in the least surprsing news of the day so far, Aston Villa have confirmed they are not giving up the chase for Chivas USA goalkeeper Brad Guzan.

Note the new name for the Goats.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email
This entry was posted in SuperLiga by Nick Green. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nick Green

South Bay-based Los Angeles News Group columnist and blogger Nick Green writes about soccer at the 100 Percent Soccer blog at www.insidesocal.com/soccer and craft beer at the Beer Goggles blog at www.insidesocal.com/beer. Cheers!
  • Josh Butler

    As much as I’d love to see Liverpool beat United here in the States, I can’t begin to imagine that a game of such importance would be played away from either Old Trafford or Anfield. Remember, the Giants weren’t the Super Bowl champs, and we stuck England with the Dolphins. I think a Newcastle v Tottenham match would draw a great deal of interest, heck, I’d take a Fulham v Bolton match.

    I’m more excited about ESPN trying to beat our Sky Sports for first rights on showing EPL matches starting in 2010.