Ajax America Women: WPSL Champions

Southern California now has two women’s soccer national champions.

A day after Pali Blues won the W-League title, Rolling Hills Estates-based Ajax America Women took their first Women’s Premier Soccer League crown Sunday night with a 3-1 come-from-behind victory over the Arizona Rush.

It was the team’s first WPSL title since 2001.

“Its been a long time coming,” said Coach Brian Boswell, who saw his team make three straight trips to the Final Four (2006-08). “We’re real happy with this one. Over the last couple of [Final Fours], we’ve been the bridesmaid and it feels good to be the winner. We’re just a great team… it doesn’t matter who’s out there. We just play very well as a team. We play well for each other – more than any superstars.”

Game details and video.

The Arizona perspective.

Earlier: more on the Pali Blues’ title.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email
This entry was posted in W-League by Nick Green. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nick Green

South Bay-based Los Angeles News Group soccer columnist and blogger Nick Green writes at the 100 Percent Soccer blog at www.insidesocal.com/soccer and craft beer at the Beer Goggles blog at www.insidesocal.com/beer. Cheers!
  • Anon

    For the uninitiated among us, can you explain the relative status of the W-League and WPSL? Is the W-League clearly higher than WPSL in the way MLS is clearly higher than USL’s A-League? Or are they competitor leagues?

    Nick replies: They are competitors. The level of play is about the same. The W-League is affiliated with the United Soccer Leagues and has 41 teams in four conferences and until this year had a minimal West Coast presence; the WPSL has 51 teams in five conferences.

    Next year both leagues will likely lose all their best players once the new Women’s Professional Soccer league cranks up.