Final Result: Houston Dynamo at Chivas USA

Chivas USA salvaged a 1-1 tie with a Jim Curtin goal being bundled over the line in the 90th minute, but events early in the second half that will result in the absence of goalkeeper Dan Kennedy for their playoff opener overshadowed the result.

Kennedy was sent off in the 52nd minute after referee Terry Vaughn appeared to believe Nate Jaqua was deliberately pulled down by the last man back. But Jaqua was jumping over Kennedy and the two collided in midair, making the call an extremely harsh one, if not completely and utterly wrong.

Dwayne De Rosario scored from the resulting spot kick, sending sub Zach Thornton the wrong way.

We’ve requested an explanation about exactly what the infraction was from the ref – I’ll let you know what he says.

More after an undoubtedly angry Preki lets it rip.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email
  • Eric

    Terry Vaughn needs to get fired. Awful call. awful ref.