Tuesday Tickler: A Galaxy Retirement, 2009 Hall of Fame Ballot Released & More

Retiring Galaxy
MLS rosters are frozen until the MLS Cup, but rookie Galaxy defender Scott Bolkan has wasted no time in deciding what to do with the rest of his life – he’s retiring from pro soccer at the tender age of 22.

Bolkan never made a Galaxy first team appearance and saw action in just two reserve games. He spent most of the season with the USL Portland Timbers and then missed the last month with a hip injury.

No word on whether that was behind his retirement, although given that he must be one of Stanford’s lowest paid alumni ever at an annual salary of $12,900 it’s perhaps not hard to figure out.

Hall of Fame Releases Player Ballot
The names of players eligible for induction in January into the National Soccer Hall of Fame were released today and include former Galaxy star Mauricio Cienfuegos, Chivas USA Coach Preki and Palos Verdes Peninsula native Joy Fawcett.

Here’s the complete list:
*Jeff Agoos – 134 caps, 1988, 2002 World Cup, 10 seasons in MLS, 5-time MLS champion, 3-time MLS all-star.
*Mike Burns – 75 caps, 1992 Olympic Team, ’94 and ’98 World Cup team, 7 MLS seasons.
*Mauricio Cienfuegos – 8 MLS seasons, 3-time MLS All Star, MLS Cup and U.S. Open Cup champion.
*Raul Diaz Arce – 6 MLS seasons, 2-time MLS Cup champion, U.S. Open Cup champion.
*Thomas Dooley – 81 caps, 1994, 1998 World Cup team, 4 MLS seasons, MLS all star, 1992 Honda Award.
*John Doyle – 53 caps, 1990 World Cup team, 1988 Olympic Team, 1991 Gold Cup champion, 5 MLS seasons.
*Marco Etcheverry – 8 MLS seasons, 4-time All Star, MVP, 3-time MLS Cup champion, U.S. Open Cup champion.
*Joy Biefeld Fawcett – 239 caps, World Champion 1991 and 1999, Olympic Gold in 1996 and 2004.
*Robin Fraser – 26 caps, 10 seasons in MLS.
*Dominic Kinnear – 54 caps, ’91 Gold Cup champion, 5 MLS seasons.
*Frank Klopas – 40 caps, 1988 Olympic Team, 1994 World Cup, 4 MLS seasons, MLS and Open Cup champion.
*Roy Lassiter – 30 caps, MLS all star, MLS scoring champion, MLS Champion.
*Shannon MacMillan – 176 caps, World Champion in 1999, Olympic Gold in 1996.
*Pato Margetic – 5 NASL seasons, 2-time NASL champion, 3-time NASL all-star, 15 indoor seasons.
*Joe-Max Moore – 100 caps, ’92 Olympic Team, ’94, ’98, and ’02 World Cup Team.
*Victor Nogueira – 6 seasons in the NASL, 13 seasons indoor soccer, 4-time MVP.
*Peter Nowak – 5 MLS seasons, 3-time MLS all star, MLS Cup champion, 2-time Open Cup champion.
*Cindy Parlow – 158 caps, World Champion in 1999, Olympic Gold in 1996 and 2004.
*Preki Radosavljevic – 28 caps, 4-time MLS all star, MLS champion in 2000.
*Mike Sorber – 67 caps, 1994 World Cup team, 5 MLS seasons.
*Earnie Stewart – 101 caps, ’94, ’98, 2002 World Cup team, Honda Award winner in 2001, MLS champion in 2004.
*Steve Trittschuh – 38 caps, 1990 World Cup team, 6 MLS seasons.
*Carlos Valderama – 7 MLS seasons, 3-time MLS all-star, MVP.
*Tisha Venturini Hoch – 132 caps, World Champion in 1999, Olympic Gold in 1996.
*Peter Vermes – 67 caps, 1988 Olympics, 1990 World Cup, 7 MLS seasons, MLS Cup and Open Cup champion.

Long Beach State Ranked
Long Beach State was ranked No. 25 in the nation in the latest NSCAA/adidas poll released today after capturing its third consecutive Big West Conference title this weekend after victories over UC Santa Barbara and Cal Poly.

Sophomore forward Kristen Kiefer earned Big West Conference Player of the Week honors after notching two goals and an assist in the 49ers’ victories.

Long Beach hosts Pacific at 2 p.m. Thursday at George Allen Field in the semifinal of the conference tournament.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email