Houston moves east as MLS realigns conferences

Well, not literally, but the Dynamo have joined the Eastern Conference giving the league two nine-team conferences this season with the addition of expansion franchises in Vancouver and Portland.

Here’s the alignment:


Chicago Fire

Columbus Crew

D.C. United

Houston Dynamo

Sporting Kansas City

New England Revolution

New York Red Bulls

Philadelphia Union

Toronto FC


Chivas USA

Colorado Rapids

FC Dallas


Portland Timbers

Real Salt Lake

San Jose Earthquakes

Seattle Sounders FC

Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Here’s the reason for MLS “moving” Houston:

Upon joining MLS in 2006, Houston became the easternmost club in the Western Conference. The two-time MLS Cup Champions are now the westernmost team in the Eastern Conference. Houston’s average distance from its Eastern Conference foes is 194.6 miles shorter than its average distance to the nine Western Conference clubs.

This year, every team will play each of the other 17 clubs once at home, once away, for a balanced, 34-game regular season.

The League’s 16th season begins at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 15 with the Seattle Sounders hosting the Galaxy.

The full league schedule is expected to be released within a matter of days.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email